Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Vandalia area election races confirmed for April ballots

Posted on Wednesday, January 25, 2012 at 8:50 am

The Tuesday, January 17 filing deadline has passed and several Vandalia area city, school, and other organizational elections are set for April.
City of Curryville
The final list of candidate declarations includes a race for mayor between incumbent Walter Haddock and challenger Randy Dalton.
In uncontested races, Dorothy Chilson filed for collector. Other filings include Herschel Talley for a one year term in the West Ward, Temnie Burton for a one year term in East Ward, Darlene Sutton for the two year term in the West Ward, and Connie McGlasson filed for the two year term in the South Ward.
Village of Rush Hill
The Village of Rush Hill will have a challenging transition during the April election as none of their three incumbent Board of Trustees’ incumbents filed for reelection.
All three positions will be decided by write-in votes in April.
City of Laddonia
The open one year Board of Aldermen seat left by Wayne Todd was not filled and will have to be filled through a write-in election.
Incumbents Jack Folta and Larry Kness filed for their seats and will run uncontested.
Van-Far Ambulance District
In the Van-Far Ambulance District, incumbent Barb Straube was the lone candidate to file in District Three.
No one filed for the District Six seat currently held by Rennie Davis.
A write-in election will be held in April to fill the seat.
Van-Far R-I
Two of Van-Far R-I School District’s Board of Directors positions are up for election in April 2012.
There will be no need for an election as in -cumbent Pete Nasir has declared his candidacy. With Van-Far R-I School Board President Kevin Motley announcing his plans to not return, candidate Greg Frost will take his seat after declaring his candidacy.
Community R-VI
In the Community R-VI School Board race, incumbent Scott Sims filed for reelection. With board member Tresa Hodges not filing for reelection, her spot will be filled by candidate Joyce Gastler.
No election will be needed in April as both seats are uncontested.
City of Martinsburg
In Martinsburg, Carl Alber was the lone candidate in Ward I while Bob Cope was the lone candidate in Ward II. No election will be needed in April.
City of Middletown
The City of Middletown announced two candidates have declared candidacies.
One week before the deadline, incumbent Georgia Scarborough filed for her seat while Julia Fleming also declared her candidacy.
City of Vandalia
No election is needed in the City of Vandalia as incumbents were the only ones who declared their candidacy.
Mayor Ramon Barnes will remain in the office he’s occupied since 1992.
Teresa Wenzel will remain as Ward I, Larry Holt stays in Ward II, and John Weiser stays in Ward III.
City of Farber
Like Vandalia, the City of Farber will not have a competitive election. Incumbents Lynn Flowers and Tony Shade both filed for reelection.
Care Center
Incumbents Connie Hesse and Delores Mottaz both filed for their current districts and will have an uncontested race as no other candidates declared their candidacy.