Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Van-Far’s Jace Gay receives 2017 Davis H. Hart Award

Posted on Wednesday, May 3, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Linda Miedler, daughter of Davis H. Hart, presents the award named after her father to Jace Gay.

Jace Gay, diesel technology student from Van-Far High School, is the recipient of the 2017 Davis H. Hart Award. He was presented the award from Linda Miedler, daughter of Davis H. Hart, at the Hart Career Center Awards Ceremony Wednesday night.
Gay was also named the Outstanding Student for Diesel Technology along with Trenton Brandl of Paris High School.
Nominees for the Davis H. Hart Award were Madison Baumbach, cosmetology, Van-Far High School; Andrew Snodgrass, computer services, Van-Far High School; Antonio Williams, computer science, Mexico High School; Aaron Kempf, automotive, Montgomery County High School; Shay Arms, graphic arts, North Callaway High School.
To qualify for the Davis H. Hart Award, students must have a 95 percent or higher attendance rate, have a 3.0 GPA, mastered 80 percent of their competencies within their program area, be a two year completer of their program and be nominated by their instructor. The students then produce and submit a resume and go before a panel of judges with a demonstration from their program area.
The instructors introduced their students and presented each one with certificate or portfolio .
In addition to Gay and Brandl, Outstanding Students and their high school and class include Aaron Kempf, Montgomery County R-2 High School, auto mechanics; Cayla Bell, Mexico High School, business; Andrew Snodgrass, Van-Far High School, computer service; Jonathan Taylor, Mexico High School; computer science; Chase McMorris, Van-Far High School, construction technology; Madison Baumbauch, Van-Far High School, Carlene Allen, North Callaway High School, cosmetology; Shay Arms, North Callaway High School, graphic arts occupations; Mariah Bolasina Fulton High School, Bryce Dunlap, Mexico High School, health services; Emily Hercules, marketing, Mexico High School; Cabel Harlan, Mexico High School, Andrew Whitworth, Mexico High School, Project Lead The way; Wyatt Baldwin, welding technology.
Students receiving a portfolio for completing a two year/two hour course with competency and attendance requirement include: Duncan, Bryce Dunlap, Makayla Foreman, Brittney Gates, Andrew Jahn, Jessica Joiner, Abbygayle Jones, Garret Jorgensen, Raegan Samm, Alexandria Schlatt, Jonathan Taylor, Journey Twenter, Nikki Welch, Antonio Williams, Zoey Wilson, Carlene Allen, Shay Arms, Wyatt Baldwin, Avery Carline, Danielle Jackson, Mariah Bolasina, Kortine Pearson, Madison Baumbach, Jace Gay, Trenton Brandl, Jacob Green and Jessica Staples.
Earlier this year several students were named the 2017 National Technical Honor Society Members. they are Carlene Allen; Richard Beatty, computer service; Trenton Brandl; Jace Gay; Abbygayle
Jones, Chase Monte, Raegan Sam, vocational agriculture, Mexico High School; Jonathan Taylor and Antonio Williams.
Sending schools include Montgomery County, North Callaway, Community R-6, Fulton High School, Van-Far High School, Centralia High School, and Paris High School.
FBLA and SkillsUSA students who will be attending national competition were also recognized. They include Ethan Prior, FBLA; Levi Duncan, Garret Jorgesen, Madison Baumbach and Brooke Young, SkillsUSA.
Prior to the awards, Chris Denham, director of Hart Career Center welcomed those attending; and Jory Seitz, the 2016 Davis H. Hart Award recipient and alumnus gave an update on his education.