Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Van-Far Spring Concert and Awards Night

Posted on Wednesday, May 2, 2018 at 11:27 am

Band members perform for the crowd.

Van-Far High School presented their Spring 2018 Concert and Awards Night on Wednesday, April 25.
The Van-Far Guitar Class opened with “Good-Riddance,” by Green Day. The Junior High Band performed the “Canterbury Overture” by Anne McGinty and “Above and Beyond” by James Swearingen.
The Junior and Senior High Choir sang “Auroa Borealis” by Amy F. Bernon; “Man in the Mirror” by Ballard and Garret (arranged by Lojeski); and “This is Me” by Pasek and Paul (arranged by Huff).
The Chiefs Wind Ensemble followed with “Globe and Eagle March” by J.P. Sousa; “Highlights from Harry Potter” by Williams (arranged by Story); and “The Emerald Isle” by Dave Black.
Solo performances were presented by Trevor Winders, on the piano, playing Sonata #12, First Movement by Mozart. Jayson Orr, on the horn, played Romance Opus 36 by Camille Saint-Saens and Voxman. Aubrey Bunge, on the flute, played the final solo which was Sonata No. 5 in E minor by Bach.
Following the musical selections, awards and scholarships were presented.
Receiving their Music Letters were Sharon Baur, Cheyenne Martin, Alex Flowers, Justin Stowers, Averie Cottrell, Shyonna Martin, Mason Trone, Gina Clausen, Dylan Gaage, Jayson Orr, Lauren Shaw, Harley Young, Tyler Robinson, Ethan Winders, Aubrey Bunge, and Trevor Winders.
Achievement Awards went to Aubrey Bunge, Jayson Orr, and Ethan Winders.
Dedication Awards were presented to Ashley Stanich, Alex Flowers, Kyle Ebers, and Gina Clausen.
Leadership Awards were presented to Sharon Baur (choir) and Ethan Winders (band).
Named Most Improved Musicians for 2018 were Morgan Slatten (choir) and Aubrey Bunge (band).
The Director’s Award is presented to a graduating senior band member demonstrating dedication, loyalty, discipline, and leadership. Kyle Ebers received the Director’s Award.
Gina Clausen was presented with the John Philip Sousa Band Award.
The Sousa Award is the pinnacle of achievement in a high school band. Introduced in 1955 to honor the top student in the high school band, the John Philip Sousa Band Award recognizes superior musicianship and outstanding dedication. Gina Clausen was the recipient of both the Bailey Dyke Music Scholarship and the Bertram Cowley Music Scholarship.