Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Van-Far recognized for distinction

Posted on Wednesday, April 11, 2012 at 8:44 am

The University of Missouri College of Education and the Heart of Missouri Regional Professional Development Center (RPDC) honored 33 mid-Missouri school districts that earned a Distinction in Performance award during a March 20 recognition ceremony in Columbia, Mo.
The Distinction in Performance award from the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) recognizes school districts that perform at a high level or make steady progress in all areas of academic achievement as measured by DESE’s Annual Performance Report (APR).
“The MU College of Education, in partnership with the Heart of Missouri RPDC, is pleased to honor these mid-Missouri school districts for their commitment to attaining a high level of student achievement,” said Daniel Clay, dean of the MU College of Education. “We are privileged to work with many of these school districts to provide access to training and research to improve teaching and learning.”
DESE’s APR serves as a public report card on how well school districts and charter schools are meeting state standards for academic performance. During the 2010-2011 academic year, 329 of Missouri’s 521 public school districts qualified for this recognition. DESE announced the 2010-2011 recipients in September 2011. To qualify for the award, K-8 districts must meet 6 of 7 performance standards that apply to these districts, including all of those based on the results of the MAP tests. K-12 districts must meet 13 out of 14 standards, including all of the MAP-based measures.
“We are excited to see the continuing progress in raising achievement for all students,” said Marc Doss, director of the Heart of Missouri RPDC. “We are proud of the school districts that are functioning at a high level, as well as those districts that have made important gains in improving academic success at their schools.”
The following mid-Missouri school districts earned a “Distinction in Performance” award from DESE for the 2010-2011 academic year. Schools with an asterisk are performing at a high level. All other schools are recognized for making steady progress in improving academic achievement.
• Blair Oaks R-II*
• Boonville R-I
• Camdenton R-III
• Centralia R-VI
• Cole Co. R-I
• Cole Co. R-V
• Columbia 93
• Cooper Co. R-IV
• Fayette R-III
• Gasconade Co. R-I*
• Gasconade Co. R-II
• Glasgow
• Hallsville R-IV
• Harrisburg R-VIII
• High Point R-III
• Jefferson City
• Miller Co. R-III
• Moniteau Co. R-I
• Morgan Co. R-II
• New Franklin R-I
• North Callaway Co. R-I
• Osage Co. R-I
• Osage Co. R-II*
• Osage Co. R-III*
• Pilot Grove C-4
• St. Elizabeth R-IV*
• School of the Osage*
• Silex R-I
• South Callaway Co. R-II
• Southern Boone Co. R-I*
• Sturgeon R-V
• Tipton R-V
• Van-Far R-I
About the MU
College of Education
In 1868, the University of Missouri was the first state university in the nation to establish a college for the development of future teachers. Today the college enrolls nearly 3,000 total students in its undergraduate and graduate programs and has more than 40,000 living alumni. The college also is consistently ranked among the top education colleges in the country.