Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Van-Far R-I School District honors athletes at annual Spring event

Posted on Wednesday, May 23, 2012 at 9:04 am

Ron Stallcup Award winner Ryan Teague, left, with Ron Stallcup.

The Van-Far R-I School District honored several athletes during the annual Spring Athletic Awards Program held Monday, May 21. Van-Far senior Ryan Teague received this year’s Ron Stallcup Award. Senior Jenise Johnson won the Steve Snowden Award while the Tanner Lowrance Athletic Award was given to Ryan Nelson. The Van-Far Booster Club Senior Awards were presented to seniors who were present at the event. Those included Carli Farrell, Jenise Johnson, Rachel Nelson, Andrew Stewart, and Ryan Teague. The other awards presented during the event were:
Academic All-Conference-Bryan Mink and Adam Brewer
Most Birdies-Brandon Otis
Most Pars-Brandon Otis
Most Improved-Bryan Mink
Most Promising-Cody Buie
Mr. Golf-Brandon Otis
MVP-Bryan Mink
Track and Field
Academic All-Conference-Logan Boyd, Breanna Gollaher, Chevi Windland, and Autumn Cross
Newcomer of the Year-Autumn Cross
Distance Runner of the Year-Chevi Windland
Best in Field Events-Autumn Cross
Runner of the Year-Chevi Windland
Academic All-Conference-Logan Boyd, Kyle Decker, Ethan Gooch, Brian Kurz, Ryan Nelson, Ryan Decker, and Ryan Teague
All-Conference and all-district-Andrew Stewart (2nd team EMO, district)
On Base%-Logan Boyd
Most RBIs-Logan Boyd
Most Assists-Ethan Gooch
Lowest ERA-Ryan Teague
Most Runs-Ethan Gooch
Golden Glove Award-Ryan Teague
Rookie of  the Year-Ben Darling
Top Hitter-Logan Boyd
Mr. Hustle-Kyle Decker
Most Improved-Enrique Caceres
MVP-Andrew Stewart
Eagle 102 All-Area Team-Kasey Gatson (1st team, MVP) and Ethan Gooch (2nd team)
MSHSAA Sportsmanship-Rachel Nelson