Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Van-Far honors Spring Sports athletes at annual event

Posted on Wednesday, May 31, 2017 at 11:59 am

Van-Far girls track and field plaque recipients.

Retiring coach Wes Rowden was one of the many coaches and students recognized during the Van-Far Spring Athletic Awards Program held last Friday.
Van-Far Principal Kim Pafford publicly recognized him and thanked him for his service to the district and its students as Rowden received a round of applause.
Later, Van-Far golfer Jayson Orr publicly thanked golf coach Alex Cucciarre for the time spent with him this past season.
This year’s Ronald Stallcup Award was given to Joseph Clithero.
The Steve Snowden Award was awarded to Sharrod Connor.
Jayda Borgmeyer received the Tanner Lowrance Athletic Award.
A special recognition was given to Transportation Director Charlie Stroker as Van-Far Athletic Director and boys track coach Kevin Baldwin presented him a coaches state champion medal. Former 4×800-meter relay runner Kevin Keltner also made some remarks as he presented special plaques to the 4×800-meter relay team.
Several track and field, golf, and baseball awards were also distributed. Those went to:
All-Conference-Brayden Christian (First Team), Rylee Hanson, and Jayson Orr (Second Team)
All-District-Jayson Orr (First Team), Brayden Christian (Second Team), and Rylee Hanson (Second Team)
Lowest Average-Brayden Christian
Fifth Man-Zane Allen
Lowest 9 and Lowest 18-Rylee Hanson
Most Improved-Trevor Lower
Mr. Golf-Brayden Christian
Team-Zane Allen, Brayden Christian, Matthew Dunn, Rylee Hanson, Trevor Lower, Jayson Orr, and Ethan Winders

Girls Track and Field
Letters-Avery Rost, Jordan Garner, Aisha Ezeta, Katie Elzea, Jayle Jennings, Aubrey Bunge, Maddie Dunn, Ashley Stanich, Hannah Bauman, Taryn Adam, MacKenzie Kurz, Sharon Baur, Kenede Farrell, Alyse Jensen, Colby Walton Wright, Vanessa Martinez, Maddy Swafford, Maddie McAfee, Makayla McAfee, Alex Connaway, Lauren Shaw, and Alivia Graddy
Most Improved-Maddie McAfee
Outstanding Newcomer-Alex Connaway
Most Valuable Sprinter-Jordan Garner
Outstanding Field Event-Jordan Garner
Most Valuable Distance Runner-Jayle Jennings
Most Valuable Athlete-Makayla McAfee
Gusto Award-Lauren Shaw

Boys Track and Field
Outstanding Rookie of the Year-Morgan Slatten and Verdell Johnson
Most Improved Athlete of the Year-Verlyn Johnson
Outstanding Thrower-Kyle Ebers
Outstanding Jumper/Vaulter-Jacob Garner
Outstanding Hurdler-Josh Hodde
Outstanding Short Sprinter of the Year-Sharrod Connor
Outstanding Long Sprinter-Parker Wallace
Outstanding Distance Runner-Lathyn McMorris
Outstanding Athlete of the Year-Trevor Crider
Coaches Leadership Award-Sharrod Connor
School Record 400 meters-Parker Wallace
School Record 4×100-meter relay-Verlyn Johnson, Parker Wallace, Sharrod Connor, and Jacob Garner
School Record 4×800-meter relay-Trevor Crider, Lathyn McMorris, Tyler Robinson, and Sam Hazel
School Record 800 meters-Lathyn McMorris
Team was also recognized for winning districts, sectionals, and state championship.
Roster overall includes: Nathan Beatty, Joseph Clithero, Sharrod Connor, Trevor Crider, Kyle Ebers, Alex Flowers, Jacob Garner, Sam Hazel, Josh Hodde, Logan Holt, Verdell Johnson, Verlyn Johnson, Lathyn McMorris, Dillion Minor, Dominic Ramirez-Hazel, Tyler Robinson, Walter Salmon, Morgan Slatten, Zakkary Strange, and Parker Wallace
Seniors-Cameron Barsé and Brayden McMillen
Academic All-Conference-Riley Culwell, Treyson Culwell, Josh Hodde, Colten Jensen, Brayden McMillen, Sam Middleton, Caden Wilburn, and Colin Wilburn
Academic All-State-Treyson Culwell, Josh Hodde, Colten Jensen, Brayden McMillen, Paul Schambach, and Caden Wilburn
Best Slugging Percentage-Josh Hodde
Most Runs Scored-Logan Wilson
Stolen Bases-Brayden McMillen
Most Assists-Treyson Culwell?
On-Base Percentage-Josh Hodde
Most RBIs-Treyson Culwell
Most Improved-Colten Jensen
Rookie of the Year-Sam Middleton
Best ERA-Josh Hodde
Top Hitter-Logan Wilson and Treyson Culwell
Gold Glove-Caden Wilburn and Brayden McMillen
Mr. Hustle-Brayden McMillen
MVP-Josh Hodde
Roster-Cameron Barsé, Nathan Beatty, Nathan Carlisle, Trevor Crider, Riley Culwell, Treyson Culwell, Matthew Dunn, Dylan Gaage, Josh Hodde, Cody James, Colten James, Brayden McMilen, Sam Middleton, Seth Morris, Tyler Robinson, Paul Schambach, Isaac Smth, Caden Wilburn, Colin Wilburn, and Logan Wilson