Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Van-Far FFA honors students at banquet

Posted on Wednesday, May 7, 2014 at 12:59 pm

The incoming and outgoing Van-Far FFA Officers with FFA Advisor Taryn Dameron.

The incoming and outgoing Van-Far FFA Officers with FFA Advisor Taryn Dameron.

Van-Far FFA students were recognized for their many accomplishments from this past school year at the organization’s annual banquet held on Thursday, May 1 at Van-Far R-I High School.
State FFA officer Miriam Martin, from Meadville, was the event’s guest speaker.
She talked about the need for building a firm foundation individually, for the local FFA Chapter, and for the industry.
Martin said it’s important to talk about things accomplished in the past and thinking about the future ahead.
She said a perspective is something that can never be taken away from a person.
This was the last banquet for Van-Far Advisor Taryn Dameron, who recently resigned from the position for the next school year.
She talked about her time as a student teacher and the interest shown in her from former Van-Far advisor Rex Moore, encouraging Taryn in her career direction.
Dameron thanked Moore, Principal Cindy Pirch for taking a chance on her, the community, the alumni chapter, and the students from the past four years.
The meal was provided by Country Cupboard. Students from the Van-Far FCCLA served the meal.

Award Winners
Chapter Sweetheart- Chevi Windland
Star Chapter Farmer- Renee Nelson
Star Chapter Agribusinessmen- Dalton Buie
Star Chapter Placement-Trenton DeTienne
Star Chapter AgriScience-Matty Northcutt
Attendance Awards
Jace Gay, Jayda Borgmeyer, Colton Craven, Cameron Barse, Anthony Cole, Matty Northcutt, Micaella Love, Renee Nelson, Hailey Hopke, Dalton Buie, Nick Barnes, Klayton Haddock, Chivi Windland, Kayelee Harrower, Sarah Motley, Kayleigh Kohl, Abilene Gatson, Matt McGlasson, Cody Buie, Brooke Johnson, Jake Stuart, Ciara Craven, Kyle Decker, and Brett Hubert
Scholarship Awards
Cameron Barse, Richard Beatty, Jayda Borgmeyer, Anthony Cole, Colton Craven, Jace Gay, Dalton Buie, Michael Colson, Trenton DeTienne, Hailey Hopke, Courtney Jennings, Micaella Love, Renee Nelson, Matty Northcutt, Abilene Gatson, Kayelee Harrower, Kayleigh Kohl, Nathan Kraft, Warren Kraft, Sarah Motley, Chevi Windland, Ciara Craven, Kyle Decker, Melani Hamlett, Eric Hancock, Brooke Johnson, and Jake Stuart
Leadership Awards
Colton Craven, Cameron Barse, Anthony Cole, Jace Gay, Jayda Borgmeyer, Renee Nelson, Abilene Gatson, Nathan Kraft, and Cody Buie
Greenhand Degree-Cameron Barse, Richard Beatty, Jayda Borgmeyer, Anthony cole, Colton Craven, Jace Gay, and Devon Sapp
Chapter Farmer Degree-Nick Barnes, Dalton Buie, Nick Crow, Trenton DeTienne, Klayton Haddock, Hailey Hopke, Courtney Jennings, Micaella Love, Wyatt McDowell, Matty Northcutt, and Renee Nelson
Knowledge Team- Jayda Borgmeyer, Jace Gay, Colton Craven, and Anthony Cole
Historian’s Scrapbook- Brooke Johnson
Creed Speaking-Cameron Barse
Advanced Public Speaking-Nathan Kraft
Division II Public speaking-Renee Nelson
Extemporaneous Speaking-Cody Buie
Job Interview- Abilene Gatson
Complete Placement Record Book- Ciara Craven
Career Development Teams
Ag Mechanics-Kyle Decker, Jake Stuart, Brett Hubert, and Matthew McGlasson
Agronomy- Kayleigh Koh, Chevi Windland,  Ciara Craven, and Brooke Johnson
Livestock Judging- Nick Barnes, Nathan Kraft, Micaella Love, and Klayton Haddock
Dairy Cattle- Renee Nelson, Hailey Hopke, Dalton Buie, and Matty Northcutt
Soils- Abilene Gatson
Trap Shooting
Jake Stuart, Cody Buie, Matthew McGlasson, Abilene Gatson, Klayton Haddock, Nick Crow, Matty Northcutt, Dalton Buie, Anthony Cole, and Colton Craven.
Most Improved Team Member- Klayton Haddock
Most Valuable Team member- Matthew McGlasson
Proficiency Awards
Beef Production- Abilene Gatson
Wildlife Management- Matty Northcutt
2014 State Farmers- Jake Stuart and Abilene Gatson
2014 Honorary Chapter Farmers- Brandon Straube, Greg and Teresa Stuart for assisting Abilene and Jake with earning their State Degrees and Brandon Straube for his assistance with maintaining the Greenhouse and helping to train the Agriculture Mechanics Team.
New Officers
Abilene Gatson (President); Chevi Windland and Klayton Haddock (Vice-President); Sarah Motley (Secretary); Renee Nelson (Treasurer); Nathan Kraft (Reporter); Hailey Hopke and Matty Northcutt (Historians); Dalton Buie (Sentinel); Micaella Love (Chaplain); Nick Barnes (Parliamentarian)