Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Van-Far FFA holds annual chapter banquet

Posted on Wednesday, May 10, 2017 at 11:23 am

Several awards were given out to students during the Van-Far FFA Banquet held this past Sunday.
The event began with a slideshow and a dinner before the opening ceremonies. Beth Schnitker gave a presentation from Audrain County Cattlemen’s.
Awards distributed included:
Honorary Degree recipients-Julie Hackethal, Becky Berry, along with Ray and Tammy St. John
Nursery Operations-Logan Holt
HYMAX Academy-Colin Wilburn
Golden Hammer Award-Zach Cassaday
Alumni Scholarship-Logan Holt
Leadership Awards
Creed Speaking-Colin Wilburn (fourth in Area V contest)
Prepared Public Speaking-Mackenzie Kurz (Area V state alternate, competed in the Advanced Prepared Public Speaking)
Academic Awards-Alec Adam, Dylan Bailey, Gage Barney, Jayda Borgmeyer, Aubrey Bunge, Olivia Bybee, Cole Chrisman, Anthony Cole, Madalyn Cole, Colton Craven, Treyson Culwell, Paige Dameron, Katie Elzea, Alivia Graddy, Rylee Hanson, Mackena Hays, Logan Holt, Will Hopke, Alyse Jensen, Colten Jensen, Abbi Kuda, Mackenzie Kurz, Maddie McAfee, Sam Middleton, Claire Motley, Tyler Robinson, Paul Schambach, Lauren Shaw, Parker Wallace, Colby Wright Walton, Caden Wilburn, Colin Wilburn, Logan Wilson, and Halynna Yager
Attendance Awards-Caden Wilburn, Colin Wilburn, Paige Dameron, Claire Motley, Jayda Borgmeyer, Treyson Culwell, Logan Wilson, Logan Holt, Lauren Shaw, Alec Adam, Alivia Graddy, Aubrey Bunge, Colby Wright Walton, Madalyn Cole, and Will Hopke
Proficiency Awards
Beef Production-Sam Middleton
Beef Production Entrepreneurship-Will Hopke
Fiber and Oil Production Placement-Treyson Culwell
Vegetable Production-Logan Wilson
Diversified Livestock-Paige Dameron
Diversified Crop Production Placement-Treyson Culwell
Outdoor Recreation Placement-Lauren Shaw
Ag Sales and Services Placement-Claire Motley
Swine Production Placement-Caden and Colin Wilburn
Swine Production Entrepreneurship-Paige Dameron
Grain Crop Production Placement-Caden Wilburn
Grain Crop Production-Alec Adam
Chapter FFA Degrees-Treyson Culwell, Paige Dameron, Lauren Shaw, Claire Motley, Logan Wilson, Caden Wilburn, Tyler Robinson, Cole Chrisman, Gage Barney, and Alec Adam
Royalty-Logan Holt (King) and Jayda Borgmeyer (Chapter Sweetheart)
Outstanding Freshman-Matt Dunn and Colin Wilburn
Outstanding Sophomore-Paige Dameron
Outstanding Junior-Colten Jensen
Outstanding Senior-Logan Holt and Jayda Borgmeyer
Fruit Sales-Top three salesmen were Paige Dameron, Will Hopke, and Paul Schambach
Career & Leadership
Development Team Awards
Agronomy-Alec Adam, Treyson Culwell, Paige Dameron, and Logan Wilson
Nursey Landscaping-Jayda Borgmeyer, Caden Wilburn, Colin Wilburn, and Anthony Cole
Poultry-Colby Wright Walton, Makalyn Phillips, and Alivia Graddy
Floriculture-Claire Motley, Lauren Shaw, Logan Holt, and Olivia Bybee
Wisconsin World Dairy Expo-Lauren Shaw, Logan Wilson, and Colin Wilburn
Midwest Dairy Association Award-Lauren Shaw
Greenhand Degree-Sam Middleton, Lilli Kuda, Rylee Hanson, Matt Dunn, Colby Wright Walton, Tessia Kuda, Halynna Yager, Brigid Finnegan, Mackena Hays, Payton Pargeon, Makalyn Phillips, Alyse Jensen, Katie Elzea, Trevor Lower, Aubrey Bunge, Madalyn Cole, Olivia Bybee, Leeanne Brown, Mady Swafford, Dylan Bailey, Aidan Lowrance, Colin Wilburn, Alivia Graddy, and Madde McAfee
Area FFA Degree-Lgan Holt
State Degree-Hailey Hopke and Logan Holt
State Convention
Courtesy Corp-Jayda Borgmeyer, Caden Wilburn, Logan Wilson, Paige Dameron, Claire Motley, Lauren Shaw, and Colin Wilburn
State Delegate-Colin Wilburn and Paige Dameron
Star Chapter Greenhand-Colin Wilburn
Star Chapter in Placement-Lauren Shaw
Star Chapter Farmer Award-Paige Dameron
Star Chapter Agribusiness-Treyson Culwell
DeKalb Award-Jayda Borgmeyer
Retiring Officers
Paige Dameron (President), Caden Wilburn (Vice-President),  Lauren Shaw (Secretary), Claire Motley (Treasurer), Colin Wilburn (Reporter), Logan Wilson (Sentinel), Alivia Graddy (Historian), Treyson Culwell (Chaplin), and Mackenzie Kurz (Parliamentarian)