Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Van-Far FFA holds annual banquet

Posted on Wednesday, May 6, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Van-Far’s Abilene Gatson, right, receives the Dekalb Award from FFA Advisor Stephanie Fischer.

Van-Far’s Abilene Gatson, right, receives the Dekalb Award from FFA Advisor Stephanie Fischer.

The Van-Far FFA Chapter celebrated another year of success by honoring several students and area residents for their work during the 2014-2015 school year.
This year’s guest speaker was Morgan Walkup, a 2014-2015 State FFA Vice-President.
Before a dinner was served, Van-Far’s FFA held their opening ceremonies. Dalton Buie gave the invocation.
Van-Far FFA President Abilene Gatson gave the welcome.
Mackenzie Kurz was the Creed Speaker.
Gatson followed by reading a list of activities the FFA had been a part of during the past season.
FFA Secretary Sarah Motley thanked the FFA Alumni Chapter members for what they do and alumni present for the event were recognized.
This year’s Dekalb Award (Outstanding Senior) went to Abilene Gatson. Gatson also received an alumni scholarship of $250.
State FFA degrees recipients recognized were Renee Nelson and Chevi Windland.
Outgoing seniors recognized were Nathan Kraft, Sarah Motley, Chevi Windland, and Gatson.

Leadership Awards-Mackenzie Kurz, Taryn Adam, Paul Schambach, and Parker Wallace
Scholarship Awards-Freshmen Taryn Adam, Alex Flowers, Will Hopke, Colten Jensen, Mackenzie Kurz, Paul Schambach, Kirkland Stubblefield, and Parker Wallace; Sophomores Jayda Borgmeyer, Anthony Cole, Colton Craven, Jace Gay, and Logan Holt; Juniors Trenton DeTienne, Hailey Hopke, Courtney Jennings, Micaella Love, Renee Nelson, and Matty Northcutt; Seniors Abilene Gatson, Kayelee Harrower, Jeremy Hornback, Kayleigh Kohl, Nathan Kraft, Warren Kraft, Sarah Motley, Lucas Robinson, and Chevi Windland
Attendance Awards-Freshmen Paul Schambach, Parker Wallace, Colten Jensen, Will Hopke, Cody James, Taryn Adam, Mackenzie Kurz, and Alex Flowers; Sophomores Jayda Borgmeyer, Colton Craven, Anthony Cole, and Jace Gay; Juniors Hailey Hopke, Renee Nelson, Matty Northcutt, Trenton DeTienne, Dalton Buie, Klayton Haddock, Nick Crow, and Nick Barnes; Seniors Abilene Gatson, Austin Speagle, and Sarah Motley
Greenhand Degrees-Taryn Adam, Trey Atkinson, Alex Flowers, Will Hopke, Cody James, Colten Jensen, Mackenzie Kurz, Ariel Seitz, Paul Schambach, and Parker Wallace
Chapter Degrees-Jessica Arnold, Cameron Barsé, Jayda Borgmeyer, Anthony Cole, Colton Craven, Jace Gay, Logan Holt, Chase McMorris, and Devan Sapp
Chapter Sweetheart-Abilene Gatson
Trap Team Recognition-Abilene Gatson, Klayton Haddock, Matty Northcutt, Dalton Buie, Nick Crow, Anthony Cole, Colton Craven, Chase McMorris, Devon Sapp, Cody James, Will Hopke, and Paul Schambach
Career Development
Agronomy Team-Jayda Borgmeyer, Anthony Cole, and Cody James (12th in districts, state alternate)
Ag. Mechanics Team-Austin Speagle and Billy Picton
Meats Team-Abilene Gatson, Kayleigh Kohl, and Renee Nelson
Floriculture Team-Matty Northcutt, Hailey Hopke, and Courtney Jennings
Leadership Contests
Knowledge Team-Paul Schambach, Taryn Adam, Mackenzie Kurz, and Parker Wallace (9th at Area Contest)
Creed Speaking-Mackenzie Kurz
Complete Placement Record Book-Kayleigh Kohl
Historian’s Scrapbook-Hailey Hopke and Matty Northcutt (represented Area V at state, received “1” rating)
Courtesy Corp-Abilene Gatson
Proficiency Awards
Matty Northcutt-Environmental Science and Natural Resource Management (1st at Area)
Chevi Windland-Food Service (5th at Area)
Renee Nelson-Beef Production Entrepreneurship (6th at Area)
Abilene Gatson-Diversified Livestock and Sheep Production (2nd in Area for both, state alternate)
STAR Greenhand Award-Mackenzie Kurz
STAR Chapter Award-Matty Northcutt
STAR Chapter in Agribusiness Award-Colton Craven
STAR Chapter Placement Award-Dalton Buie
Honorary Chapter Farmers-Ralph and Christina Nelson; Rick Windland and Cindy Hively; Steve and Cindy Kohl; Jim and Karen Harrower; Dennis McMillen (Center Locker); and Marlene Fischer (Country Cupboard)
2014-2015 Officers-Abilene Gatson (President); Chevi Windland and Klayton Haddock (Vice-President); Sarah Motley (Secretary); Renee Nelson (Treasurer); Nathan Kraft (Reporter); Dalton Buie (Sentinel); Hailey Hopke and Matty Northcutt (Historian); Micaella Love (Chaplain); and Nick Barnes (Parliamentarian)
2015-2016 Officers-Renee Nelson (President); Hailey Hopke (Vice-President); Jayda Borgmeyer (Secretary); Courtney Jennings (Treasurer); Matty Northcutt (Reporter); and Dalton Buie (Sentinel)