Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

University of Missouri Extension in Audrain holds annual meeting

Posted on Wednesday, March 4, 2015 at 8:11 am

Century Farmers present to be recognized were, from left: Carol and Rodney Willingham alongside Clara and Joe Vance.

Century Farmers present to be recognized were, from left: Carol and Rodney Willingham alongside Clara and Joe Vance.

The University of Missouri Extension’s Audrain County Extension Council enjoyed a time of fellowship during its annual meeting held last Tuesday at the Audrain County 4-H Center.
Dr. Ronald Plain, a D. Howard Doane Professor in the University of Missouri Department of Agriculture Economics, presented the program “The Importance of Agriculture in Missouri.”
One of the statistics he noted is that the United States exported 8 million tons of meat last year.
He talked about the production of biodiesel produced in the United States and Audrain County’s role in biofuel.
He said in 2012, the No. 1 farmer commodity in Missouri was soybeans at $1.9697 billion.
In 2014, Dr. Plain noted that Missouri had $2 billion in soybeans, corn, and cattle noting the difference between last year and the drought of 2012.
Prices also increased to record highs on a variety of commodities like pork in 2014.
His nearly one hour long presentation featured many more statistics to note the importance of agriculture in Missouri and in the United States.
The extension also recognized some area residents with their Leader Honor Roll awards.
Those receiving the honor include Gary and Elizabeth Windmann along with Don Hudson.
Five farms were Century Farm recipients. Present to receive the honor were Carol and Rodney Willingham, of Martinsburg, along with Joe and Clara Vance, of Centralia.
Others receiving the Century Farm designation include Dr. John Russell, with his farm near Vandalia; Jeff and Vicki Wright, of Vandalia; and Dorothy Rosenthal, of Mexico.
The newly elected and appointed council members are Dan Kilbourn, Renae Stumpe, Nate Birt, Janet Shackelford, Janis Deimeke, and Karen Potter. Audrain County Clerk Shelley Harvey led the group in the oath of office.
The 2014 Extension Council officers are Dennis Isgrig (Chairperson), Karen Potter (Vice-Chairman), Josh Hanley (Treasurer), and Sherry Sonwalt (Secretary).
The list of other 2014 members includes Scott Brooks, Betty Clark, Tina Schmeling, Bobby Stone, Tom Groves, Michele Aulbur, Julie Birt, Janis Deimeke, Shelly Hunt, Dan Kilbourn, Laura Pitts, and Janet Shackelford.
The extension staff list in Audrain County includes Mary Sobba (Agriculture Business Specialist),  Virgil Woolridge (Family Financial Education Specialist, CPD), Stephanie Femrite (4-H Youth Development Specialist), Sarah Estes (Youth Program Associate),  Daniel Nunnelly (Youth Education Assistant), Velma Jones (Secretary), and Kathy Nichols (Office Manager/Bookkeeper).
A dinner was prepared by Erma Wrye and JoAnn Roth. The Audrain Junior Leaders served the meal.