Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Several candidates file for election

Posted on Tuesday, March 13, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Several county and statewide candidates have already declared their candidacy since filing began on February 28.
In Audrain County, some races are already shaping up just a couple weeks before the March 27 deadline. This year’s state primary election is scheduled for August 7.
In the Western District County Commissioner race, incumbent Tom Groves has filed and will be challenged by Jon Oliver.
Recently appointed County Collector Catherine Zinkel has filed for reelection. She is already being challenged by Kate Becker, who also filed.
Current Audrain County Coroner Pat Farnen has yet to refile for election while challenger Todd Yaeger has officially put his name on the line for the position.
In unopposed races as of press time, Sheriff Stuart Miller has filed for his position, incumbent Roger Young has filed for Eastern District Commissioner, Connie Hagan’s filed for Public Administrator, and current Assessor Melissa Maupin has also refiled.
In the newly unveiled District 43 for the Missouri State House of Representatives, current District 10 Representative Jay Houghton has filed for the Republican party. Ed Lockwood, who ran in 2008, has filed on the democratic side of the ticket.
In the U.S. House of Representatives filing process that was also shaken up by redistricting, current District 9 Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer is the only person to have filed for the new District 3 that does not include Pike or Audrain Counties. It does include Montgomery and Lincoln counties, among several others. No one has filed on the democratic side of the race.
In the new District 6 that includes Pike and Audrain Counties as well as most of the northern portion of the state, Democrats Kyle Yarber of Gladstone, Mo. and Ted Rights, of Hamilton, Mo. have declared their candidacies on the democratic ticket. No one has filed on the Republican side of the race.
Republican Vicky Hartzler is the only candidate on either side of the ticket to file for District 4, which includes Mexico and Martinsburg but not Laddonia. It also includes Columbia, Moberly, and several more areas. This past Monday, a bipartisan commission officially passed the new Senate boundaries. In the realignment, the immediate Audrain County area will no longer be served by current District 18 State Senator Brian Munzlinger.
A new District 7 includes Audrain, Callaway, Montgomery, Ralls, Pike, and Lincoln Counties. Currently, Jane Cunningham of Chesterfield has filed on the Republican side of the ticket while Jason Holsman has filed on the Democrat side though his listed address is Kansas City, Mo.