Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Rosters set for EMO/CCC Showdown

Posted on Wednesday, March 16, 2016 at 10:19 am

Two local basketball players will take part in the first ever “Senior Showdown” basketball games between the Eastern Missouri Conference (EMO) and the Clarence Cannon Conference (CCC) on Thursday, March 17 at Bowling Green High School.
The event is sponsored by LaCrosse Lumber.
The girls game will begin at 6 p.m.
Community R-VI seniors Samantha Jett and Danielle Brooks were both selected to compete.
Jett averaged 20.4 points along with 5.0 rebounds and 2.2 assists per game this season. Jett is expected to continue her career on the collegiate level.
“One of the best Class 1 guards in the state,” said Community R-VI head coach Bob Curtis.
Brooks average 10.3 points, 4.4 assists, 4.2 rebounds, and 3.2 steals per game.
“Terrific senior point guard that handles the ball exceptionally well and commands the offense be run,” Bob Curtis said. “…Danielle is a big reason teams do not press us as she is a one-man, press break.”
No Van-Far girls players will play in the event.
Rosters also include:
EMO-Madi Ausfahl, Erin Bush, and Bethany Bloss, North Callaway; Michele Norton, Silex; Sabrina Stewart, Clopton; Casey Johnson, Wellsville; Savannah Bridges, Wright City; and Michelle Epperson, Mark Twain.
CCC-Wednesday McCluskey and Anna Ross, Clark County; Haleigh Wosman and Kaley Augspurg, Palmyra; Lizzie Minor, Monroe City; Denise Blackwell, Louisiana; Amber Garner and Charnice Smith, Highland; Anna Wilkerson, Centralia; and Jocie Hogsett, Macon.
Pike County Memorial Hospital will be sponsoring a half-court shot worth $10,000.
A 3-point contest will be held in between the girls and boys games.
The boys game will feature no players from Community R-VI and Van-Far.
Rosters include:
EMO-Andrew Martinson and Josh Early, Bowling Green; Luke Adams, Alec Elvins, and Meshawn Marshall; Rodney Chatman and Zach Rimel, Elsberry; Ethan Mack, Mark Twain; Cody Mudd, Silex; Trey Saddler, and Wright City.
CCC-Zach Richardson and Alex Windmiller, Louisiana; Camron Mack and Shaw Hunziker, Clark County; Sidney Wear and Chase Morrow, South Shelby; Ethan Foster, Macon; Blake Hetzler, Highland; Ryan Lincoln, Centralia; and Noah McAfee, Monroe City.