Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Ralph Kuda, Jr. elected new Vandalia mayor

Posted on Tuesday, April 8, 2014 at 9:51 pm

document-56For the first time since 1992, Vandalia voters elected a new mayor on April 8 as Ralph Kuda, Jr. beat out Teresa Wenzel, 166-71. He secured 70% of the vote.
Kuda, Jr. will replace retiring Mayor Ramon Barnes, who is retiring from the position after 22 years.
Laddonia Rural Fire
Voters living in the Laddonia Rural Fire Protection District approved a measure to authorize a tax levy to provide needed funds for a district that previously collected revenues from dues.
The measure passed 121-41 with almost 75% of “Yes” voters.
The Laddonia Rural Fire Protection’s Board of Directors were elected. Jerry Johnson received 52 votes and will serve a six year term; Paul Sprock had 41 votes while Ono Monachino received 36 votes as both get four year terms; and two year terms go to Glenn Roethemeyer, 17 votes, and Francis Hunn, 15 votes.
Laddonia Special Road District
Voters living inside the Laddonia-Farber Special Road District once again approved a tax item that appears on their ballots every four years.
This time they did so by a 116-52 margin or with 69% of the vote.
Community R-VI
Voters living in the Community R-VI School District approved a no tax increase proposition for safety and security by a 215-66 margin.
The passage allows the district to borrow money in the amount of $1.25 million to provide several safety and security upgrades as well as other items as listed in the official ballot language.
The service levy is estimated to be unchanged at $0.5500 per $100 of assessed valuation of real and personal property.
Linda Gastler received the most votes in the four person race for three seats on the Community R-VI School Board.
Gaster collected 244 votes, Greg Fort received 227 votes, and Andrew Fairchild received 220 votes.
Current board member Glenn Jensen, Jr. was not reelected after receiving just 140 votes.
Laddonia, Ward II
In the City of Laddonia’s Ward II Alderman race, Jolene Matich won by just three votes over Francis Hunn, 26-23. There was one write-in vote.
Edwin Lewallen won the Ward I Alderman race in the City of Martinsburg by a 10-8 margin over Robert Wagoner.
Area Races
Voters living in the Middletown Community Fire Protection District approved a measure to replace dues like Laddonia did to keep up with rising operating costs.
The measure passed, 61-40.
In the Ralls County R-II School District, voters approved a no tax increase bond issue by a 771-397 margin. In the race for mayor of New London, Marvin Miller won by a 178-67 margin over Kenneth O’Malley.
In the Pike County elections, Donald Hunter was voted in as Mayor of Bowling Green by a 267-147 margin over Jim Moore.
In Louisiana, Bart Niedner was elected that city’s mayor with 377 total votes.
Unopposed winners include Paul Nixon and Clifford Gronauer, Vandiver; Lewis Nihiser, Larry LaRue, and a write-in, Rush Hill; Lois Hays, Diana Holguin, and Sue Nolan, Benton City; Bob Cope and Carl Aulbur, Martinsburg; John Folta, Laddonia; Tony Shade and Lynn Flowers, Farber; Ray Sutton, Larry Holt, and John Weiser, Vandalia.