Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

R-VI School Board swears in candidates

Posted on Wednesday, April 17, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Andrew Fairchild, board president, called the meeting to order at 7:04 p.m. in the district library. A quorum was declared present.
The Board voted to amend the agenda to include Item G, Change May 15, 2013 Meeting Time to 6 p.m., under Approval of Consent Items; Item D, Resignation, and Item E, OPAA! Food Service Management, Inc.
Addendum for Summer School, under New Business.
There were three (3) board vacancies and three (3) candidates. Therefore, no election was held. DeAnn Gould, custodian of records, administered the Oath of Office to board members Rhonda Curtis, Linda Gastler, and Becky Schafer.
The Board voted to elect the following by acclamation: Andrew Fairchild for president, Scott Sims for vice-president, Rebecca (Becky) Schafer for treasurer, and Rhonda Curtis for secretary.
The Board approved the March 20, 2013 regular session and April 3, 2013 work session minutes.
The Board approved the transfer from to the teacher’s fund from the general fund to cover monthly expenditures. The Board approved the April nurse’s report.
The Board accepted a letter of resignation from Erin Mack as the head middle school softball coach. There were no additions to the district substitute list.
The Board voted to change the May 15, 2013 meeting time to 6:00 p.m.
The Board to approve the payment of the April 2013 bills. There were no presentations. There were no citizen comments.
President Fairchild read letters of commendation from the board to students for their selection to the Eastern Missouri All-Conference team and Class 1 All-District team.
The following students were recognized: Paige Curtis (1st Team All-Conference and All-District), Justin Durham (2nd Team All-Conference and All-District), Paige Harris (2nd Team All-Conference), Emmalee McCoskey (2nd Team All-Conference), Clay Thebeau (All-District), Lane Thebeau (2nd Team All-Conference), and Sean Wilson (1st Team All-Conference and All-District).
Cheryl Mack, superintendent, invited board members to attend a presentation by Gary VanMeter to Paige Harris on Monday, April 29, 2013 at 9:30 a.m. Mr. Van Meter is presenting a $2,000 scholarship on behalf of Missouri United School Insurance Council (MUSIC).
The Board voted to approve the continuation of the Van-Far junior high football cooperative into the 2013-2014 school year.
The Board voted to approve the list of 2013 graduates pending satisfaction of all graduation requirements.
The Board voted to extend the bank contract with Martinsburg Bank for another two years.
The Board voted to accept the proposed list of 2013-2014 Facilities Committee members with the addition of Scott Sims.
The Board voted to accept a letter of resignation from Bart Bockenstedt, secondary special education teacher.
The Board voted to accept the addendum from OPAA! Food Service Management, Inc. for summer school.
Mrs. Mack gave the transportation, transportation maintenance, and OPAA! Food Service Management, Inc. reports. She also discussed the tenure legislation and virtual schools law.
Natalie Gibson, elementary principal, presented the elementary attendance report and math facts fluency data. Mrs. Gibson gave a Positive Behavior Supports (PBS) and check-in/check-out system updates. She also gave updates on Professional Learning Communities (PLC), and special education and federal programs.
Mrs. Gibson invited board members to attend a Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) celebration on April 19, 2013 at 10:00 a.m. Mrs. Gibson discussed the new compliance tool for the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE).
Dale Marshall, secondary principal, presented the secondary attendance and at-risk reports. Mr. Marshall discussed discipline data, MAP, and end-of-course (EOC) exam preparation.
At 7:58 p.m., the Board voted to move into executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel. The Board voted to approve the March 20, 2013 executive session minutes.
The Board voted to continue employment, dependent upon state and federal funding, with the bookkeeper, classroom aides, custodial, food service, and maintenance staff. The Board voted to continue employment with all non-certified transportation staff.
The Board voted to continue employment with the Parents as Teachers (PAT)/interactive television (ITV) aide and secretaries.
The Board voted to continue employment with the nurse and nurse supervisor.
At 9:03 p.m., the Board voted to return to regular session. At 9:04 p.m., the Board voted to adjourn the meeting.