Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

R-VI hires coaches, newly elected board members take oath of office

Posted on Wednesday, April 22, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Community R-VI Board members are sworn into office. Shown, from left, on left: Scott Sims, Terry Davenport, and Amy Brooks.

Community R-VI Board members are sworn into office. Shown, from left, on left: Scott Sims, Terry Davenport, and Amy Brooks.

The Community R-VI School Board officially hired staff members for a list of extracurricular activities during its meeting last Wednesday.
The board voted to accept the extracurricular schedule, which includes:
Jonathan Guilkey-Sophomore Class Sponsor, HS Golf Coach
Bob Curtis-HS Girls Basketball Coach, Asst. JH Girls Basketball Coach
Sarah Simmons-HS Track, Assistant JH Softball, Senior Sponsor
Brandon Talbot-HS Baseball, Assistant Football
Stacie Carroz-Assistant HS Girls Softball Coach, JH Track, JH Girls Basketball
Nathan Carroz-Head Softball Coach, Assistant HS Baseball
Darla Deimeke-Art Club
Eva Eikel-Vocal Music, Freshman Class Sponsor
Lisa Garrett-TREND
Sandy Gastler-MS/HS Student Council
Kim Hart-FCCLA
Stacy French-FFA
Melanie Utterback-STRIVE, Envirothon, NHS, Senior Class Sponsor
Rose Wilburn-Pep/Marching Band, Freshman Class Sponsor
Brandon Westlake-Academic Quiz Bowl, FTA
Ken Jett-Activities Director, HS Boys Basketball, JH Boys Basketball
Mike Smith-Assistant JH Boys Basketball
Haley Nobis-JH Softball Coach, Yearbook, Junior Class
Caitlynn Cunningham-HS Cross Country, Assistant HS/MS Track
Becky McCurdy-FBLA, Sophomore Sponsor
Jessica Young-Junior Class Sponsor
Emma Jaccarino-Part-Time Technology Director
Darla Haines- Special Education Director
The board also voted to hire Jeff Angel as part-time evening custodian.
At the beginning of the meeting, Board of Education Secretary Christina Dry administered the Oath of Office to board members Scott Sims, Terry Davenport, and Amy Brooks.
The three were recently elected to their positions in an election with just three candidates for three available positions.
In the reorganization of the district, Andrew Fairchild was elected President by acclimation. Scott Sims was elected Vice-President by acclimation. Linda Gastler was elected Treasurer by acclimation. Rhonda Curtis was elected Secretary by acclimation.
Andy Fairchild welcomed Amy Brooks to the Board of Education.
Community R-VI Superintendent Cheryl Mack presented the Transportation, Transportation maintenance, and OPAA! Food Service Management, Inc. reports.
The OPAA! Summer School Addendum was approved by the board.
She also shared the Food Service Review with the board and gave an update on MAP testing.
Van-Far Elementary Principal Tammy Angel shared that the 4th grade class went on a field trip to the capitol on April 13.
On April 30, the annual PBIS end of the year BBQ will be held at 6 p.m. and each class will be doing presentations for their parents. Attendance is at 93%.
Van-Far Secondary Principal Bob Curtis stated that tardies are down and that attendance is at 94%. Prom will be on May 2.
He noted that teacher Brandon Westlake was awarded the National History Teacher Scholarship and will be able to travel to Texas to pursue his Master’s. Only (25) teachers nationwide qualified for this honor.
Principal Curtis also shared that he awarded the 3rd quarter students on the Principal’s Honor Roll with a luncheon at Pizza Hut in Vandalia.
Linda Gastler offered words of encouragement to our FFA students competing this week. Rhonda Curtis complimented the  baseball team on their behavior when visiting other schools.
The board voted to accept the bank bid from Martinsburg Bank for a five year term.
The board voted to approve changes to graduation requirements as presented for the 2015-2016 freshman class and beyond.
Mrs. Bonnie Wilson presented a salary and benefit request to the board.
The board voted to renew the agreement with Audrain County Sheriff Department for a School Resource Officer (SRO) for the 2015-2016 school year.