Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

R-VI extends superintendent’s contract

Posted on Wednesday, January 23, 2013 at 10:34 am

Andrew Fairchild, board president, called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m. in the district library.

A quorum was declared present.  The Board voted to approve the amended agenda.  The Board approved the December 19, 2012 regular session meeting minutes.  The Board approved the transfer from the general fund to the teachers’ fund.  The Board reviewed the nurse’s report.  The

Board approved the district substitute list with the addition of Carla Hobbs and Brittany Lugena.

Incumbents Rebecca Schafer, Rhonda Curtis, and Linda Gastler filed for the three open seats on the Community R-VI Board of Education for three year terms.  In accordance with Missouri

Statute Chapter 115, section 124 (if the number of candidates who have filed for a particular office is equal to the number of positions in that office to be filled by the election, no election shall be held for such office, and the candidates shall assume the responsibilities of their offices at the same time and in the same manner as if they had been elected), the Board voted that no election shall be held on April 10, 2013 and the three candidates shall be declared elected to the Community R-VI Board of Education.

The Board set a hearing for the beginning of the February 20, 2013 Board Meeting to discuss the adoption of the 2013-2014 school calendar, which begins 10 days prior to Labor Day.  The Board reviewed the Vocational Programs evaluation.  The Board voted to approve the payment of the January 2013 bills.

President Fairchild read a thank you note from the stepping stone that was sent in memory of Francis Walker to Linda Walker, Becky Schafer (board member), and family.  There were no presentations.  There were no board comments.  There were no citizen comments.  There was no old business.

The Board reviewed tentative drafts of the 2013-2014 school calendar.  A final copy will be presented at the February 20, 2013 meeting for adoption.  The Board verified commencement will be held on Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 2:00 p.m.

The Board voted to accept Sonja Sommer’s, secondary special education, letter of retirement.  The Board voted to hold the board reorganization meeting on Wednesday, April 10, 2013.

This was the Board’s first reading of Policy 5620.  The Board will take action at the February 20, 2013 meeting.  The Board voted to list the Farmall tractor as surplus property and take bids.

Cheryl Mack, superintendent, presented the transportation and OPAA! Food Service Management, Inc. reports.  Mrs. Mack gave an update on the School Bus Rebate.  She reported the

United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has modified its lunch reimbursement rates. Mrs. Mack discussed sequestration funding cuts and the responses she has received for a new school vehicle.  She discussed the Missouri Association of Rural Education (MARE) 2013 conference registration.

Natalie Gibson, elementary principal, presented the elementary attendance report.  Mrs. Gibson gave Positive Behavior Supports (PBS) and Positive Learning Communities (PLC) updates.  She discussed the AASA Crisis Grant and Envision math.

She announced that part of the elementary staff will present the January 25, 2013 administrators’ conference.  The presentation will cover the school’s success with PBS Tier I.  Mrs. Gibson stated she has verified special education data for the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE).   She gave an update on academic progress and the supporting data.

Dale Marshall, secondary principal, presented the attendance and at-risk reports.  He gave a senior audit update.  Mr. Marshall announced there will be a Heart of Missouri Regional Professional Development Center training on the PBS discipline form.

At 7:59 p.m., the Board voted to move into executive session for the purpose of discussing a student issue and personnel.  The Board voted to approve the December 19, 2012 executive session minutes.  The Board voted to grant a waiver of residency for Madison Wieberg for the remainder of the 2012-2013 school year.  The Board voted to extend Cheryl Mack’s superintendent contract to include the 2014-2015 school year.

At 9:52 p.m., the Board voted to return to regular session.  At 9:57 p.m., the Board voted to adjourn the meeting.