Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

R-VI board sets operating levies

Posted on Wednesday, August 28, 2013 at 11:30 pm

The Community R-VI School Board set the 2013-2014 operating levy at $4.0000 and the debt service levy at $0.5500. This is a total tax levy of $4.5500, which is at ceiling. The Board came to a consensus to begin a process to switch to a paperless board meeting.
They did this during their monthly meeting held on Wednesday, August 21.
The board also voted to prepay $50,000 towards General Obligation Refunding Bonds, Series 2011 to maintain the district’s debt service levy at its current amount.
A tax levy hearing preceeded the regular monthly board of education meeting. Board President Andy Fairchild opened the tax levy hearing. Cheryl Mack, superintendent, discussed the levy. There were no comments from guests or patrons.
According to meeting minutes, the board voted to set the 2013-2014 tuition rate at $10,720.25. The board voted to accept the 2013-2014 dual credit agreement with Central Methodist University. The board voted to accept a resignation letter from DeAnn Gould, secretary to the superintendent.
The board voted to add the following to the 2013-2014 substitute teacher list: Mary Bracht, James Brink, Mary Ann Burkhalter, Lori Culwell, Ashley East, Micah Hanson, Erin Harby, Kristan Kleinsorge, Brittany Lugena, Caroline Nation, Deborah Nichols, Kelly Reichers, Leanne Robison, Jean Robnett, John Schell, Michael, Smith, Diana Sommer, and Audry Wilson. The board voted to pay the August 2013 bills.
President Fairchild read a thank you note from the Les Whelan Family for the plant that was sent in memory of their father. A thank you note was read from Gayle Madsen for a $25 gift card to Wal-Mart from a staff drawing.
Melanie Utterback, science teacher, gave a presentation that she presented on August 14, 2013 at the Monsanto America’s Farmer Grower Advisory Meeting at the Chase Park Plaza Hotel in St Louis.
Emma Jaccarino, technology director, discussed the Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) telephone system. Mrs. Jaccarino also presented the district’s new website and how to navigate the site. Martin Meyer, Architechnics representative, gave a presentation regarding facilities upgrades.
Becky Schafer commended Melanie Utterback and Emma Jaccarino on their presentations. Becky Schafer commended Justin Gastler and Caroline Schafer on receiving their Future Farmers of America (FFA) American Farmer Degree.
Susan Kleinsorge raised concerns over the outdoor classroom and a trash pile by the creek. She also requested that we continue to keep students in the news and build community awareness.
Superintendent Mack discussed Board Policy 4610 regarding teacher evaluations. Mrs. Mack will meet with Community Teachers’ Association representatives to discuss the policy. The board will take action at a later date.
She also presented the transportation maintenance report and gave an update on the Annual Secretary of the Board Report (ASBR). Superintendent Mack discussed improvement on ACT scores, annual performance report (APR) is at 86%. She reported that the district hosted a bus driver meeting for schools.
The board voted to promote Christina Dry to board secretary, custodian of records, elementary secretary, and superintendent secretary. The board voted to add Christina Dry to the Resolution of Lodge.
Natalie Gibson, elementary principal, presented the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) data. She discussed possible ways to improve attendance and PBS updates. The board was invited to attend the first PBS assembly of the 2013-14 school year on August 29, 2013. Mrs. Gibson thanked the bus drivers for being at the Meet and Greet. Mrs. Gibson complimented Mac and the custodial staff on summer work. Mrs. Gibson also shared that all students grades K-5 will be receiving free breakfast during the 2013-14 school year through the Universal Breakfast Program.
Dale Marshall, secondary principal, presented the secondary MAP and end of course assessment scores. Mr. Marshall commented on how nice the building looks. Principal Marshall reported the soda machine has been removed from the agriculture shop. He also reported the school year is off to a great start.
At 9:04 p.m., the board voted to move into executive session.The board voted to approve the July 17, 2013 executive session minutes.
The board voted to appoint Kevin Deimeke as a regular route bus driver. At 10:25 p.m., the board voted to return to regular session.
At 10:26 p.m., the board voted to adjourn the meeting.