Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

One week remains to file for 2018 election

Posted on Wednesday, January 10, 2018 at 10:16 am

Candidates have less than a week to officially declare their candidacy for several area election races in the area.
The deadline to file for the upcoming April 3 election is next Tuesday, January 16.
City of Vandalia
In the City of Vandalia, there are four seats up for election.
In the mayoral race, both incumbent Mayor Ralph Kuda and alderperson Debbie Hopkie have filed for the election.
As for the rest of the city races, Ramon Barnes (Ward I), Janet Turner (Ward II), and John Weiser (Ward III) are incumbents who have each declared their candidacies.
City of Laddonia
No aldermen have filed as of press time in two Laddonia races.
Current incumbents are Gary Garnett and Lyle Knipfel.
City of Martinsburg
The City of Martinsburg has four open seats up for election.
There are two, one-year and two, two-year seats up for election.
Those who have filed include Charlie Deimeke (one year), Cary Montague (one year), Bob Cope (two years), and Josh Graver (two years).
City of Curryville
There are three aldermen, the mayor position, and the city collector position up for election in April in the City of Curryville.
Larry Shaw is the lone incumbent who has declared his candidacy.
City of Farber
In the City of Farber, the seats of Lynn Flowers and Tony Shade are up for election.
No candidates have filed as of press time.
City of Middletown
There are two seats up for election in the City of Middletown.
Incumbent Georgia Scarborough has filed as of press time. Incumbent Julie Fleming has announced that she is retiring so her seat remains with no candidates filed as of press time.
Rush Hill
There are no election races in the Village of Rush Hill in April.
Community R-VI
There are two seats up for election with the Community R-VI School Board.
Current board members are Scott Sims and Amy Brooks. Only Brooks has declared her candidacy as of press time. Van-Far R-I
There are two school board members seats up for election in April.
Dr. Greg Frost and Pete Nasir are the two incumbents. Dr. Frost and Tony Dameron are the only candidates to have filed as of press time.
Tri-County Care Center
Both the District Four and District Five seats are up for election for the Tri-County Care Center.
Incumbents Connie Hesse and Deloris Mottaz have filed as of press time.
Van-Far Ambulance District
The District 3 and District 6 seats are up for election in April.
Current incumbents are Barbara Straube and Rennie Davis.
Only Dakota Buie has filed as of press time.