Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Five Indians earn all-conference honors

Posted on Wednesday, November 2, 2016 at 11:53 am

The Indians’ Sharrod Connor puts a stiff arm on a North Callaway tackler.

The Indians’ Sharrod Connor puts a stiff arm on a North Callaway tackler.

Five Van-Far/Community R-VI football players earned EMO All-Conference honors for their performances during this past season.
Junior Josh Hodde was the lone player to earn all-conference honors at two positions.
Hodde was named to the the first-team as a wide receiver as well as a punter.
In spite of battling an injury all season long, coaches noted the stand-out performance of sernior Sharrod Connor as he received first-team honors for the utility/kick returner position.
Senior Adam Hombs earned second-team honors for his play on the offensive line.
Defensively, junior Jacob Garner earned second-team honors for his play at linebacker.
Junior Parker Wallace earned second-team honors at the defensive back position.
The full list of honors includes:
First-Team Offense
Quarterbck-Stephen Talbert (Clopton/Elsberry)
Running back-Corey Kroll (Montgomery County), Caleb Hirner (Mark Twain), and Wyatt Branson (North Callaway)
Wide Receiver-Adam Reno (North Callaway) and Josh Hodde (Van-Far/Community R-VI)
Tight End-Jarrett Livengood (South Callaway)
Offensive Line-Trevor Anthony (Clopton/Elsberry), Matt Salisbury (North Callaway), Ben Shumate (South Callaway), Jeff Lovell (Montgomery County), Dalton Hill (Mark Twain), and Aidan Epperson (Mark Twain)
Wingback/Flanker-Bennett Hager (South Callaway)
Second-Team Offense
Quarterback-Milo Henry (North Callaway)
Running Back-Terry Monroe (Mark Twain), Kaden Helsel (South Callaway), and Dalton Stone (South Callaway
Wide Receiver-Jamon Graham (Clopton/Elsberry) and Devon Holmes (Wright City)
Tight End-Ryan Bailey (Mark Twain)
Offensive Line-Robert Benoist (Wright City), David Ortega (Wright City), Gaven Comley (Bowling Green), Brandon Aggus (South Callaway), Darrell Risch (South Carroll), and Adam Hombs (Van-Far/Community R-VI)
Wingback/Flanker-Brandon Hamilton (Mark Twain)
First-Team Defense
Defensive End-Donovan Guccione (Clopton/Elsberry), Wyatt Branson (North Callaway), and Landon Hortsman (South Callaway)
Defensive Linemen-David Ortega (Wright City), Ben Shumate (South Callaway), and Hunter Schroer (South Callaway)
Linebacker-Terry Monroe (Mark Twain), Scott Kuntz (Clopton/Elsberry), Tanner Pezold (North Callaway), and Kaden Helsel (South Callaway)
Defensive Back-Brandon Ashley (South Callaway), Peyton Leeper (South Callaway), Bradyn Hooley (Mark Twain), Austin Edwards (North Callaway), and Matt Klopcic (Clopton/Elsberry)
Defensive End-Jorden Billings (Bowling Green), Austin Meyer (South Callaway), and Corey Kunkel (Mark Twain)
Defensive Linemen-Paul Brickey (Clopton/Elsberry), Bobby Zwilling (Montgomery County), and Darrell Risch (South Callaway)
Linebacker-Jaime Malta (Wright City), Jordan Delashmutt (North Callaway), Bennett Hager (South Callaway), and Jacob Garner (Van-Far/Community R-VI)
Defensive Back-Parker Wallace (Van-Far/Community R-VI), Caleb Hirner (Mark Twain), Adam Reno (North Callaway), Beau Brandt (Bowling Green), and Devon Holmes (Wright City)
First-Team Specialty
Punter-Josh Hodde (Van-Far/Community R-VI)
Utility/Kick Returner-Sharrod Connor (Van-Far/Community R-VI)
Placekicker-Avery Epperson (Mark Twain)
Athlete (First-Team only)-Blake Kendall (Clopton/Elsberry)
Co-Coaches of the Year-Mike Scheibel (Clopton/Elsberry) and Zach Hess (South Callaway)
Punter-Adam Reno (North Callaway)
Utility/Kick Returner-Kaden Helsel (South Callaway)
Placekicker-Collin Schlapper (Wright City)