Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Filing period starts Dec. 13 for April 2012 election

Posted on Monday, December 12, 2011 at 12:40 am

The filing period for several Vandalia area city, school, and other organizational elections opens Tuesday, December 13, 2011 for the April elections. Those interested in running for positions can file through the 5 p.m. Tuesday, January 17, 2012 deadline.

City of Vandalia

The City of Vandalia has four two year terms up for election on Tuesday, April 3, 2012.

A mayoral race for a position held by Mayor Ramon Barnes since April 1992 is up for election.

The Ward I seat, held by Teresa Wenzel since April 2010, is up for election. Larry Holt’s Ward II seat held since September 2004 and John Weiser’s Ward III seat held since April 2008 are also up for election.

All candidates must have resided within the City of Vandalia for 12 months immediately preceding the election and must be at least 21 years old.

City of Farber

In the City of Farber’s aldermen race, seats currently held by Lynn Flowers and Tony Shade are up for election. Flowers has served since April 2006 and Shade has served since July 2003.

City of Laddonia

Information requested from the City of Laddonia was not provided by press time.

In 2010, both John Folta and Larry Kness won alderman races for seats with a two year term limit.

City of Curryville

The two year seat for Mayor Walter Haddock is up for election two years after he defeated William Parrott in the 2010 mayoral race.

Aldermen seats currently held by Tony Lovell, Richard Cox, and Randy Dalton are also up for election. Those seats represent the east, south, and west wards.

The City Clerk position held by Erin Comer is also up for election.

City of Martinsburg

Two year terms are set to expire in the City of Martinsburg for seats currently held in Ward I and Ward II.

Mayor Pat Arens’ Ward I seat filled by Carl Alber is up for election. Long time Ward II board member Anthony Becker’s seat is also up for election.

City of Middletown

No information was provided to The Vandalia Leader by press time regarding the April 2012 election.

Village of Rush Hill

Three positions on the Village of Rush Hill’s Board of Trustees are up for election in April 2012.

Positions are currently being held by both Connie Rutherford and Larry LaRue, who have both served more than 15 years, while Louis Niehiser’s seat is also set for a race. Niehiser has served a one year unexpired term and one full term.

Van-Far R-I

Two of Van-Far R-I School District’s Board of Directors positions are up for election in April 2012.

The three year term seats are currently being filled by Kevin Motley and Pete Nasir. Motley, the School Board President, is currently in his first term while Nasir is finishing his second, three year term.

Community R-VI

In the Community R-VI School Board race, three year terms for board members Tresa Hodges and Scott Sims are up for election.

Van-Far Ambulance District

Three year terms are set to expire for two board members in the Van-Far Ambulance District.

Currently, Barb Straube is serving a three year term in District Three. Her district includes west of Jefferson St. and north of State St.

Renne Davis’ District Six seat is also up for election. District Six includes the southern section of Audrain County that border Pike and Montgomery Counties.

It also runs along the Ralls-Audrain County line. A detailed description of the district can be receieved at the Van-Far Ambulance District.

Tri-County Care Center

Districts Four and Five are the two positions up for election at the Tri-County Care Center.

District Four runs south to Highway V and west on Highway V to the intersection of Highway W.

District Five is occupied currently by Connie Hesse, who has served since July 2006. It runs into Ralls County, goes north of the southeast corner in Audrain County and bounded by three directions by existing school district boundary lines.