Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Filing period begins Feb. 25 for county offices

Posted on Wednesday, February 19, 2014 at 12:07 pm

election-buttonThe filing period for those interested in running for Audrain County Government offices, subject to the August 5, 2014 Primary Election will open at 8 a.m., Tuesday, February 25, 2014 and will close at 5 p.m., Tuesday, March 25, 2014.
Filing will take place at the Audrain County Clerk’s Office, 101 N. Jefferson Street, Room 101, Mexico, Mo.
Offices for election this year include: Associate Circuit Judge, Circuit Clerk, Presiding Commissioner, County Clerk, Collector of Revenue, Treasurer, Recorder of Deeds, and Prosecuting Attorney.
Candidates will need the following documents at the time of filling:
• Proof of Identity,
• Copy of an affidavit filled with the Department of Revenue affirming the candidate is not currently delinquent in the filing or payment of any state income taxes, personal property taxes, real property taxes on the place of residence, as stated on the declaration of candidacy, or is not a past or present corporate officer of any fee office that owes any taxes to the state, other than those taxes which may be in dispute. (Forms available on DOR website or in the County Clerk’s Office.)
• A paid receipt from political party for filing fee ($50) for County Office. Fee may be paid at time of filing and will be forwarded to party representative.
Candidates filing for the office of Treasurer or Collector of Revenue must present a copy of a signed affidavit from a surety company authorized to do business in this state indicating that the candidate meets the statutory bond requirements for the office for which the candidate is filing.
A first day random drawing will be done to determine candidates’ ballot position for the August 5, 2014 Primary Election. Those candidates who file from the second day through the last day will be listed on the ballot by their filing order following all first day filers.
Declarations of candidacy may also be filed for political offices of Township or Precinct Committeemen and Committeewomen. These posts will be elected at the Primary Election.
If you have any questions, you may contact Shelley Harvey, Audrain County Clerk/Election Authority at 573-473-5380.