Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Filing deadline passes for upcoming election

Posted on Wednesday, January 27, 2016 at 9:39 am

election-buttonThe filing deadline for the upcoming April election in area towns and districts has passed and several election races are set for the ballot.
City of Vandalia
Three Wards and the Mayor position are up for election in the City of Vandalia. Incumbents include Mayor Ralph Kuda, Raymond Sutton (Ward I), Larry Holt (Ward II), and John Weiser (Ward III). There will be just one competitive race as both Larry Holt and Janet Turner have filed to run for Ward II. Incumbents Mayor Kuda and Weiser filed while Doug Bontz filed to run in Ward I.
Sutton did not file to run again for Ward I.
City of Farber
There are two aldermen positions up for election in the City of Farber.
Incumbents are Tony Shade and Lynn Flowers.
Lynn Flowers and Tony Shade did file by the deadline so no election will be needed.
City of Martinsburg
Two aldermen will be elected in the City of Martinsburg.
Incumbents include Carl Aulburt (Ward I) and Bob Cope (Ward II). Both have declared their candidacy. No more information was available at press time.
City of Curryville
There are several elections to be held in the City of Curryville.
Incumbents include Betty Haddock (West), Dennis Dixon (South), Jeanne Barton (East), Robin Talley (Collector position, resigned), and Mayor Walter Haddock.
Only Mayor Haddock and Barton filed by the deadline.
In the City of Middletown, there are four aldermen seats and the mayor position up for election.
Incumbents include Mayor Gary Moore along with aldermen Roy Butts, Crissy Maycock, Julia Fleming, and Georgia Scarborough.
Fleming and Scarborough filed by the deadline.
City of Laddonia
There are two aldermen seats up for election in the City of Laddonia. The incumbents are Jack Folta and Jolene Matich.
Folta did file for the election.
Other candidates filing includes Matthew Jensen, Carl Donaldson, Gary Garnett, Ono Monachino, and Francis Hunn.
Village of Rush Hill
No one filed for the Village of Rush Hill so the election will be through write-in candidates for the three trustee positions. Terms for Connie Rutherford, Larry LaRue and Lewis Nihiser will expire in April.
There are two seats up for election with the Van-Far R-I School Board.
The two, three-year terms are currently being held by incumbents Christy Nelson and Kevin Motley. Both have declared their candidacy.
Two new candidates have also declared their candidacy. They include Dana Keller and Penny Jennings-Copelin.
Community R-VI
There are two seats up for election in the Community R-VI School District.
The incumbents are Rhonda Curtis and Terry Davenport and both have filed. There will be no election for the district.
Van-Far Ambulance District
Two board member positions are up for election with the Van-Far Ambulance District.
District One candidates would need to live in the portion of Cuivre Township West with the district also including a south direction to the Montgomery County line.
District Four includes the area east of Jefferson St. and south of State St.
Incumbents are Harold Williams and Shelly McAfee.
Gary Stubblefield is the lone candidate to file for the election.
Tri-County Care Center
There are two board positions up for election with the Tri-County Care Center. Those are for District No. 1 and District No. 6.
Incumbents are Gene Ann Dixon and Debbie Salois and both have declared their candidacy as of press time.
9-1-1 Board
There are two four-year term director positions up for election with the 9-1-1 Emergency Services Board. Candidates are needed for the Western and Eastern District Director positions.
Leland Wagner has filed for the Western Director position and Harold Williams filed for Eastern Director.