Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Few file for municipal, organizational seats

Posted on Wednesday, January 23, 2013 at 10:30 am

Few area seats will be contested on this year’s April 2 ballot. With the filing period for municipal and organizational declarations closed as of January 15, those candidates will now be ready for the spring vote.

According to Missouri statute,  no election will be held if the number of candidates is equal to the number seats available.

City of Vandalia

Larry Shaw filed to represent Vandalia’s Ward I for a two-year term. Shaw will be running against incumbent Alderman Dempsey Dixon on the April ballot.

Raymond Sutton remains unopposed for Vandalia’s Ward II seat as with Ron Stallcup for Ward III.

Van-Far School Board

Kevin Motley will join incumbent board members Christy Nelson and Charles Scrogin in a race for two, three-year seats on the Board of Education.

A meet-the-candidate night is currently in the works with no date set as of press time.

Audrain County Board of Health

For two, four-year positions on the Audrain County Board of Health, Dr. Patricia Burke, Sharon Stowers, Faye Fairchild, and Joyce Carr have filed. Burke, appointed as chairperson, and Stowers, as board member, were put into place by the Audrain County Commission until the April 2 vote.

Richard Webber, Sterling Oliver, and Dave Buhr have declared for the three, two-year spots on the board of health. Webber, as board member, and Sterling Oliver, as treasurer, were also inaugural members to the board and appointed by the commission.

City of Farber

Incumbent Aldermen Gary Stubblefield and  Ronald Greenplate are uncontested to renew their two-year seats. Incumbent Mayor John Hodde is also uncontested for a two-year term renewal.

City of Laddonia

Josh Deimeke, Ward II incumbent, has filed to replace Mayor Charles Heim, who had not filed for re-election, for a two-year term.

Monte Hanson filed uncontested for the Ward II seat and as with Ono Monochino for Ward I. Both seats will be held for two years.

City of Martinsburg

For Martinsburg, Mayor Pat Arens re-filed for his two-year spot. The city’s Ward II incumbent Bill Dubbert has also re-filed for two more years. Ward I incumbent Ed Lewallen has not re-filed with no others filing for the position.

Community R-VI

Incumbents Rebecca Schafer, Rhonda Curtis, and Linda Gastler filed for their three-year seats on the Community R-VI Board of Education.

Rush Hill

Incumbents Kathy Taylor and Helen LaRue have filed for uncontested races for the two, two-year terms on Rush Hill’s Board of Trustees.

Tri-County Care Center

Gene Ann Dixon, incumbent of District I, and Debbie Salois, District VI incumbent, re-filed for their seats.

Van-Far Ambulance District

District IV incumbent Harold Williams has re-filed, as well as District I incumbent, Shelly McAfee.


No information has been received by the City of Middletown or the City of Curryville as of press time.