Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Election Results for April 3, 2012

Posted on Tuesday, April 3, 2012 at 10:19 pm

April 3, 2012 @ 9:15 pm – 10:15 pm

Van-Far R-I School District voters passed Proposition A by a 153-49 vote on election day held Tuesday, April 3.
The 75-percent approval allows the district to now borrow $1,400,000 that results in no estimated increase to the debt service property tax levy.
This measure provides funds to complete “energy efficiency improvements including heating, ventilation and air conditioning system upgrades, roof repairs and replacement, tuck pointing and brick replacement, and other remodeling and repair improvements to the existing facilities of the district.”
The move also issues bonds for the payment and the levy will remain unchanged at $0.6348 per one hundred dollars of assessed valuation of real and personal property.
Voters also approved the Vandalia Special Road District Tax with almost 80-percent in “Yes” votes. The final tally was 142-36.
This is the same item area residents have been asked at least five times to approve over the past 20 years as the measure must be passed by voters every four years.
The .35 cent levy funds approximately 50-percent of the district’s budget as the district maintains roughly 118 miles of country roads.
Uncontested races were won by Lynn Flowers and Tony Shade in Farber, Vandalia Mayor Ramon Barnes, Vandalia’s Ward I Teresa Wenzel, Vandalia’s Ward II Larry Holt, Vandalia’s Ward III John Weiser, Laddonia’s Ward I Jack Folta, Laddonia’s Ward II Larry Kness, Martinsburg’s Ward I Carl Aulbur, and Martinsburg’s Ward II Bob Cope.
Names were not available at press time for write-in elections in Laddonia, Van-Far Ambulance District 6 Director, and the Village of Rush Hill.
Write-in winners for races in Pike County were not made available at press time. In the race for the City of Middletown, both Georgia Scarbrough and Julia Fleming received 10 votes.
In the City of Mexico, both Ronald Loesch and Dan Botts won their councilman uncontested races. In the Audrain Ambulance District 5 Director race, Josh Biggers beat Kristine Craddock by a 35-26 margin. Bill Friday won District 2 23-19 over Robert Larkin.

Update as of 9:19 p.m.

In the race for Mayor of Curryville, Walter Haddock beat Randy Dalton 34-13. In the Bowling Green School Board race, Louise Hunter was voted in as well as Scott Smith, who beat Tim Gamm by just one vote. Dennis Bair beat Roberta Orf 87-67 to win the Ward II Bowling Green race while Kenda Flynn won the Ward III race with 58-percent of the vote.

Winning uncontested races in Curryville were Collector Dorothy Chilson, West Ward’s Herschel Talley and Darlene Sutton, South Ward Connie McGlasson, and East Ward Jeanie Barton.

Updated as of 9:30 p.m.

Ralls County results are in and they show Dennis McMillen winning the Mayor race in Center 79-33 over George Mitts.

In New London, Marvin Miller won the Mayor race 111-86 over Kenneth O’Malley.

In Perry, Dustin Wasson won the Mayor race 221-22 over Bill Arnold.