Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Prop. A passes; Kuda, Barnett, Dameron win

Posted on Tuesday, April 3, 2018 at 7:23 pm

Many voters always wonder if their vote even counts. Proof was evident in the final results for Proposition A with the Van-Far R-I School District.
After tallying totals from three counties, the “Yes” vote won 428-427 over the “No” vote.
A breakdown shows the “No” winning Audrain County 387-384, the “Yes” winning Ralls County 35-24, and the “No” winning Pike County 16-9.
In the race for Van-Far R-I School Board, Joni Barnett and Tony Dameron won the election.
Barnett had 599 votes and Dameron had 512 to knock out incumbents Pete Nasir (325) and Dr. Greg Frost (111).
As for the competitive race for City of Vandalia mayor, incumbent Mayor Ralph Kuda won 305-227 over Debbie Hopke. Doug Bontz was third with 26 votes.
Aldermen Ramon Barnes, Janet Turner, and John Weiser won their unopposed races.
In Laddonia, the Laddonia/Farber Special Road District question was renewed with a 96-44 margin in favor of “Yes” or 68.57% of the total vote.
In the City of Laddonia, Proposition 1 was voted down by a 27-23 vote total in favor or “No.” As for Proposition 2, the “Yes” votes won 33-17. Aldermen Gary Garnett and Patricia Jane Kennemore won their unopposed races.
In the City of Mexico, Randy Maxwell defeated John P. Ogden 190-147 to win the Mexico Special No. 13 Road District Commissioner race.
Chris Miller and Vicki Briggs won their two unopposed races for Mexico Council.
Tony Shade and Lynn Flowers won their unopposed races in the City of Farber.
As for the Farber Use Tax Proposition, the “Yes” votes won 30-18.
In the Village of Vandiver, Paul Nixon (19) and Kathleen Gronauer (11) won the two seats up for election. Theodore Wieberg was third with 10 votes.
In Ralls County, Cathy Whitley won the Ralls County Ambulance Director election 99-34 over Anthony Smallwood.
As for the Ralls County 9-1-1 Board member race, Denise Goodwin won the West District 440-229 over Richard Adair.
Roger Stout (264) and David Ray (144) had the top totals in the East District race for Ralls County 9-1-1. Tony Smallwood was third at 97 votes.
Donald Hunter won the Bowling Green mayor race with 250 votes. Jim Arico was second (135) and James Walker was third (35).
Find all of the unofficial results for four area counties and their election races on our website at

Audrain County Unofficial Results
Ralls County Unofficial Results
Pike County Unofficial Results2


Results as they were made available…..

8:44 p.m.

So yes, your vote does count.
Prop A passes 428-427 for the Van-Far R-I School District.
Joni Barnett and Tony Dameron have won the Van-Far R-I School Board race. After the totals of 3 counties voting:
Barnett 599
Dameron 512
Nasir 325
Frost 111

8:25 p.m.
Final Van-Far Election Results…
School Board

8:22 p.m.
In the City of Vandalia Mayoral race, incumbent Ralph Kuda wins with 305 votes (54.66%). Debbie Hopke is 2nd at 227 (40.68%) and Doug Bontz third 26 votes (4.66%).

8:20 p.m.

Ralls County total for Van-Far race:
Tony Dameron (48)
Joni Barnett (41)
Pete Nasir (16)
Greg Frost (7)

8:16 p.m.
Laddonia Proposition 1
100% precincts reporting, 50 votes
23 “Yes” 46%
27 “No” 54%

Laddonia Proposition 2
33 “Yes”-66%
17 “No”-34%

8:14 p.m.
Farber Use Tax
Total Votes 48
30 “Yes”-62.50%
18 “No”-37.50

8:12 p.m.
Mexico Special No. 13 Road District 13 Commissioner
340 votes, 100% precincts in
John P. Ogden 147 (43.24%)
Randy Maxwell 190 (55.88%)
(3) write-ins

8:09 p.m.
Laddonia/Special Farber Road, all precincts reporting.
140 total votes
96 “Yes”-68%; 44 “No”-31%

8:07 p.m.
3 of 4 precincts
113 “Yes”, 118 “No” for Prop A with Vandalia not reporting

8:05 p.m.
3 of 4 precincts reporting, not Vandalia at this time.
Joni Barnett, 179, 40.68%
Tony Dameron 149, 33.86%
Pete Nasir 87, 19.77%
Greg Frost 25, 5.68%

7:39 p.m.
In Montgomery precinct, County Wide Question has 287-55 in favor of “Yes”. Mary Ellen Shanks had 271 votes and Gary Eatherton was at 201 for MCHD Board of Directors.
Thomas Benney had 125-37 in Ward 1 votes over Susan Kempf.
Consolidated Road District No. 1 Question showed 259-78 in favor of “Yes” votes.

7:37 p.m.
Precinct 4 has Prop A with Yes (4 votes) 66.6% to (2) No votes at 33.33%.

7:33 p.m.
Precinct 4 results in Van-Far School Board race: 14 total votes
Joni Barnett (6) 42.86%
Tony Dameron (5), 35.71%
Pete Nasir (3), 21.43%
Dr. Greg Frost (0), 0%

7:26 p.m.
Absentee unofficial totals in for Montgomery County. Highlights include 31-7 margin for County Wide Question in favor of “Yes,” Robert Sellenriek earning all five City of Jonesburg mayoral votes, and a 25-7 margin in favor of “Yes” for Consolidated Road District No. 1 question.