Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Election races now set for April

Posted on Wednesday, February 1, 2017 at 11:34 am

election-buttonSeveral area candidates have officially filed by the January 17 deadline for the April 4 election races.

City of Vandalia
In the City of Vandalia, those filing for the Ward I seat were incumbent Bob Dunn and Teresa Wenzel.
In Ward II, only incumbent Dempsey Dixon has filed.
For Ward III, Gabe Jennings did not re-file for the seat. Those filing included Debbie Hopke and Kathryn Peery.
City of Farber
In the City of Farber, there will be a new mayor as Ken Scott was the lone candidate for the position after incumbent Mayor John Hodde did not file by the deadline.
Also filing for the two-year aldermen positions were Jamie Day, Dwayne Hull, and Carolyn Ball. None of the candidates vying for the two position are current incumbents.
The incumbents were Ronald Greenplate and Gary Stubblefield.
City of Martinsburg
For the City of Martinsburg, only incumbent Mayor Pat Arens filed to run in the election.
No candidates filed for the Ward I and Ward II seats now left vacant by outgoing incumbents Ed Lewallen and Bill Dubbert.
City of Laddonia
In the City of Laddonia, there are two candidates for the mayor position. They include two now outgoing aldermen Monte Hanson and Eric Craft. Incumbent Josh Deimeke didn’t file for re-election.
There are four residents who are running for the two aldermen positions available.
Those who filed for the aldermen races include Francis Hunn, Michael Platt, Stephanie Cook, and Glenn Jensen.
City of Middletown
In Middletown, three residents filed for the three positions available. Those filing were Gary Moore for the mayoral race along with incumbent aldermen candidates Chrissy Maycock and Roy Butts.
City of Curryville
There are three, two-year terms up for election in the City of Curryville.
Those putting their name on the line included incumbents Ashley Wilburn, Ron Singleton, along with candidate Jackie Grimmett.
There are also two, one-year unexpired terms with candidates Jeanie Barton and Larry Shaw running for office.
The Collector position is also up for election but no one filed by the deadline.
Van-Far R-I School District
There are three candidates who filed for the upcoming election in the Van-Far R-I School District, so there will be no official election to be held.
Those filing include incumbents Larry Wheeler, Jim Hopke,  and newcomer Justin Hopke.
Incumbent Kimber Nation did not file for the election.
Community R-VI School District
In the Community R-VI School District, there are three board member positions and now four candidates vying for them.
Those who have filed are incumbents Linda Gastler and Greg Fort along with Joel Hays and Bonnie Wilson.
Van-Far Ambulance District
In the Van-Far Ambulance District, both incumbents Joyce Holt and Jim Williams filed for the election.
Holt is the incumbent in District Two and Williams is the incumbent in District Five.

Tri-County Care Center
The final information was not available at press time for the April election.
At one time, both District Two incumbent Carolyn McBride and District Three incumbent Charles Hayden had filed for the election.