Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

DAR welcomes newest member during ceremony

Posted on Wednesday, January 18, 2012 at 9:14 am

Shown, from left: Virginia Howdeshell, chaplain, Ruth Miller, regent and Linda Sue Galloway, new member.

Linda Sue Galloway was inducted into the Susanna Randolph Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution during the Jan. 5 meeting held at the Vandalia Hotel.
Ruth Miller, regent, and Virginia Howdeshell, chaplain, held the ceremony to welcome Galloway to the chapter.
Following the fried chicken meal, Miller conducted the business meeting. Mandi Bryant gave the President General’s report, Teresa Wenzel read the National Defense News and Ann Carter gave the Indian Minute.
The minutes were read by Judy Flowers. Barbara Elzea gave the treasurer’s report. Correspondence included a Christmas card from the state officers, an invitation to the Bowling Green Chapter’s 100th anniversary at 2 p.m. Feb. 22 at the United Methodist Church in Bowling Green and a thank-you card from a student at Groves Cottage, Tamassee DAR School.
The group also received a thank-you note for the $126 gift card sent by the chapter for Christmas at Tamassee School.
Miller had delivered 152 Christmas cards to the Missouri Veterans Home in Mexico. Mandi Bryant reported about $10,000 in coupons sent to military personnel in December.
Miller announced the following winners of the DAR American History Contest: (listed first through third place) Perry Christian School –  Timothy Duncan of Thompson; Van-Far Elementary – fifth grade – Caden Wilburn of Laddonia, Jordan Garner and Paige Dameron. both of Vandalia; sixth grade – Walker Franke, Jacob Garner and Kinley Elzea, all of Vandalia; 8th grade – Abbegail Robinson of Vandalia. Van-Far High School winners of the Christopher Columbus Essay Contest were Brooke Johnson, Ethan Gooch and Kassie Slater, all of Vandalia.
The DAR Good Citizen for the year is Elizabeth Owens from Van-Far and Brittni Brandwein from Community R-6.
The students will be honored at the Washington’s Birthday Tea at 2 p.m. Feb. 22 at St. Pat’s Hall. The program, “Women of the American Revolution,” will be given by Mandi Bryant and other members.
The decorating committee includes Maxine Jackson, Barbara Ezea, Kathy Mommens, Barbara Jarvis and Judy Flowers.
They will be in charge of punch and Jarvis will make the cake. Miller is to notify the newspapers, Joy Davis and Miller are in charge of awards and programs.
Miller collected information for the master questionnaire including hours members had volunteered for various causes,
Davis made a motion to furnish a letter of endorsement for Elizabeth Owens’ application for the 2012 Nash Music Scholarship. Carter seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.
Members purchased decorated cupcakes or muffins, furnished by Howdeshell, for the Junior DAR Cupcake Challenge.
Cupcakes were $1 each with proceeds to go to the Helen Pouch Memorial Fund.
The program, “Andrew Jackson and the War of 1812,” was presented by Davis and Mandi Bryant.
Davis told of the life of Andrew Jackson and Bryant portrayed his wife, Rachel Donnelson Jackson. She died of a heart problem just before his inauguration.
At the close, Davis played a rendition of “The Battle of New Orleans.”
Answering roll call, something about the War of 1812, were Dorothy Black, Anne Bryant, associate member; Mandi Bryant, Carter, Davis, Elzea, Flowers, Galloway, Howdeshell, Jackson, Miller, Cindy Pirch and Wenzel.