Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Community R-VI holds regular February meeting

Posted on Wednesday, February 27, 2013 at 9:57 am

The following are meeting minutes from the Community R-VI School District Board of Education.
Andrew Fairchild, board president, called the public meeting to order at 7:05 p.m. in the district library. The Board made a motion to amend the agenda to include Item B, Board Policy 5260, under Old Business. The Board approved the January 16, 2013 regular session meeting minutes. The Board approved the transfer from the general fund to the teachers’ fund. The Board approved the February nurse’s report. The Board approved the addition of Dewey Fennewald and Jesse Perrigo to the district substitute teacher list. The Board tentatively set a board work session for Wednesday, April 3, 2013. The Board accepted the resignation of Lois Hays, food service worker, effective May 17, 2013. The Board reviewed the at-risk and transportation program evaluations. The Board voted to approve the payment of the February 2013 bills.
Jennifer Gilman, secondary guidance counselor, gave a presentation regarding secondary guidance procedures. Emma Jaccarino, technology director, gave a presentation regarding technology updates within the district. There were no board comments. There were no citizen comments.
The Board voted to adopt draft 2A of the 2013-2014 school year calendar, which has a start date prior to the first Monday in September and no spring break week. The Board voted to adopt Board Policy 5260.
Cheryl Mack, superintendent, announced the district is awaiting legislative news regarding 2013-2014 budget.
The budget may be calculated at 92% funding. The Board voted to allow the elementary school to have a rescue dog trained at the Women’s Eastern Reception and Diagnostic Correctional Center located in Vandalia, Missouri pursuant to Board Policy 6145.
The Board voted to renew the OPAA! Food Service Management, Inc. contract for 2013-2014. The Board voted to accept Denise Becker’s letter of retirement effective at the end of the 2012-2013 school year. The Board voted to accept Michele Koelling’s resignation as the agriculture education and Future Farmers of America (FFA) sponsor effective the last day of required teacher attendance with a monetary penalty pursuant to Board Policy 4710.
The Board voted to change the 2013 summer school dates to Tuesday, May 28, 2013 thru Friday, June 21, 2013. The Board voted to accept the bid from Unger Tractor Sales in the amount of $610.00 for the 1948 Farmall Tractor. The Board voted to declare two cases of salt and pepper shakers as surplus property and offer them for sale.
Cheryl Mack presented the transportation, transportation maintenance, and OPAA! Food Service Management, Inc. reports.
Natalie Gibson, elementary principal, presented the elementary attendance and discipline reports. Mrs. Gibson gave a Positive Behavior Supports (PBS), check-in/check-out system, math fluency data, and social skills intervention updates. She also gave updates on Professional Learning Communities (PLC), student-led conference, and special education and federal programs. Mrs.
Gibson announced she would be taking a group of students to see Beauty and the Beast at TRIPS Theater in Columbia, Missouri as their A and B celebration trip. Also, she announced the Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS) team has been invited to present at its national fall conference in Chicago, Illinois regarding PBS Tier I implementation.
Becky Schafer commend the PBIS team on their presentation at the January 25, 2013 administrators’ conference regarding the elementary school’s success with PBS Tier I implementation.
Dale Marshall, secondary principal, presented the secondary attendance and at-risk reports. Mr. Marshall discussed PLC and Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) testing preparation.
At 10:15 p.m., the Board voted to move into executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel.
The Board voted to approve the January 16, 2013 executive session minutes. The Board voted to rehire Natalie Gibson, elementary principal, for the 2013-2014 school year. The Board voted to rehire Dale Marshall, secondary principal, for the 2013-2014 school year.
At 11:59 p.m., the Board voted to return to regular session. At 12:00 a.m., the Board voted to adjourn the meeting.