Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Community R-VI celebrates the arts with annual Spring program

Posted on Wednesday, April 17, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Several choir groups performed during the annual Spring Concert.

The Community R-VI School District celebrated the arts on April 11 when it hosted a a Spring Concert, under the direction of Eva Eikel and Rose Wilburn, as well as an Art Show and Silent Auction directed by Darla Deimeke. The event featured a solo dedicated to the late Bill and Nancy Stafford that was performed by their granddaughter Bianca Stafford.
The 8th grade and High School band opened the evening with “The City of Lights,” “By Dawn’s Early Light,” “Woodchopper’s Ball,” and “That Thing You Do.”
The 6th and 7th grade band then performed “Appalachian Overture,” “Canto and Caprice,” and “Surge.”
Fourth grade recorders played to the tune of “Take Me Out to the Ball Game” and “March of the Abominable Alien Aardvarks.” After the Art Show and Choir award winners were recognized, the 5th grade band took the spotlight. They performed “Doodlin’ Thing,” “Hot Cross Buns,” “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star,” and “Old MacDonald.”
The Guitar Class performed “Leyenda,” “The Giant in the Wood,” and the Poison hit “Every Rose Has Its Thorn.” That song was performed by Aaron Johnson.
Community R-VI’s 5th grade and Middle School Choir sang “There Has to Be a Song” and “Swing Down Ezekiel.”
The Middle School Choir performed “The River Sleeps Beneath the Sky” while the High School Choir sang “Mes Chants,” which was accompanied by Carla Hobbs. The High School Choir also sang “Some Nights” and “Down in the River to Pray.”
Music Awards
District Festival:
Pins for Choir 2 Rating at District Music Festival – Shayla Cates, Megan Byrd, Shane Myers, and Takoda Cochran
Letter/Pin for Choir 2 Rating District Music Festival –  Joesie Allen, Keith Caldwell, Kelsey Hilderman, Caylin Levings, Dalton Oligschlaeger, and Stephanie Smith
Bar/Pin for 2 Rating at District Music Festival – Lakin Davenport, Courtney Hoyt, Aaron Johnson, Amelia Knipfel, Morgan Kuda, Curtis Lierheimer, Emmalee McCoskey, Tina McCoskey, Olivia Mosley, Haley Rutherford, Bianca Stafford, and Jewelee Winn
Soloists Contest
Aaron Johnson-1 at Central Methodist, 2 at District Music Festival
Lakin Davenport-2 at Central Methodist, 3 at District Music Festival
Outstanding MS Vocal Student – Annie Marshall
Outstanding HS Vocal Student – Jewelee Winn
Freshman/Sophomore NEMO All-District Choir – Lakin Davenport
Art Show Winners
Middle School – Drawing
1) Charley Ann Stone; 2) Trevor Pepper; 3) Erika Byrd; HM)Thomas Kinder, Kaithlyn Foreman, and Kathlyn Dawson
Middle School – Painting/Color
1) Annie Marshall; 2) Chelsea Hoyt; 3) Ivy Stathem; HM) Kathlyn Dawson and Shelby Craft
High School –
1) Megan Schmeling; 2) Megan Schmeling; 3) Alex Becker; HM) Robbie Nell, Sean Wilson, and John Tharp
High School – Painting & Color
1) Russell Lovelace; 2) Samantha Jackson; 3) Justin Tharp; HM) Russell Lovelace, Ethan Knipfel, and Robbie Nell
High School 3-D Art
1) Kristen Rutherford; Adessa Slavens; 3) Lance Gibson; HM) Ethan Knipfel, Samantha Jackson, and Becky Polacek
Viewers Choice Award – Megan Schmeling
Best of Show – Russell Lovelace