Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Community R-VI board approves contracts

Posted on Tuesday, April 3, 2012 at 11:53 pm

—Official minutes from the Community R-VI school board meeting held in March.
The board approved the transfer from the general fund to the teacher’s fund to cover monthly expenditures. The Board reviewed and approved the March 2012 nurse’s report.
The board approved the addition of Ashley East, Sarah Eckhoff, DeAnn Gould, Debby Nichols, Paula Ragsdale, and Carol Wisdom to the district substitute teacher list. The board accepted a resignation letter from Cheryl Snyder, elementary day custodian and bus driver. The board reviewed the health services and technology program evaluations. The board voted to approve the payment of the March 2012 bills.
President Fairchild read a thank you note from Bethany Curtis, Erin Mack, Becky McCurdy, and Melanie Utterback for allowing them the opportunity to participate in the Interface Conference. President Fairchild read a thank you note from Melanie Utterback and the Envirothon team for the Board’s support of the team.
Melanie Utterback, high school science teacher, presented Next Generation Science Standards framework for kindergarten through twelfth grades. Emma Jaccarino, technology coordinator, and Rebecca McCurdy, high school math teacher, gave an update. Mrs. McCurdy demonstrated the use of chromebooks and tablets. She also demonstrated interactive software that helps facilitate learning within the classroom.
Michele Koelling, FFA Sponsor, and FFA advisory committee members Philip Gastler and Jon Robnett gave an overview of an advisory committee and its function. They announced that Monsanto had awarded the FFA with a $1,000 grant for the FFA Chapter Challenge.
Tresa Hodges thanked all who presented. There were no citizen comments.
The board voted to adopt the 2012-2013 school calendar as presented. Cheryl Mack, superintendent, announced no letters of interest have been received for the board vacancy.
Mrs. Mack discussed plans to move forward with summer school. Summer school will be in session from June 4-29, 2012.
The board made a motion to adopt the 2012-2014 technology plan. The board voted to allow the vocational agriculture program to submit an application for the Agriculture Enhancement Grant.
The board came to consensus to allow Project Prom to use a maximum of two buses that will transport students to and from Project Prom, which is at the Mexico Area Family YMCA in Mexico on Saturday, April 28, 2012.
Mrs. Mack gave a report on transportation, liability insurance inspection, and the Head Start rental house inspection. She gave an update on health insurance premiums and Employee Screening Services, which is the company that will be used for the student drug policy screenings and bus driver screenings.
Mrs. Mack stated the district submitted date to discussed OPAA Food Service Management Company for the purposed of conducting a feasibility study. She stated the district is considering purchase of time clock software. Mrs. Mack presented a desk clock to Tresa Hodges for 12 years of service to the Board of Education.
Natalie Gibson, elementary principal, presented the attendance report. She gave a Professional Learning Community (PLC) update. Mrs. Gibson invited board members to attend The Reptile Experience, sponsored by Parent Teacher Organization (PTO), on Thursday, March 22, 2012 at 1 p.m. in the new gym. She also invited board members to attend the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) Recognition Awards Night on Thursday, March 29, 2012 at 6 p.m.
Dale Marshall, secondary principal, presented the secondary attendance. He also presented the alternative school, course recovery, and Missouri Options reports.
Mr. Marshall reviewed a thank you note from Vicki Briggs, golf coach, to the Community R-VI Booster Club. The Booster Club purchased five new golf bags for the golf team members to use during the golf season. Mr. Marshall commented that the golf team has grown to 15 members, which includes both boys and girls.
At 9:19 p.m., the Board voted to move into executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel. The Board voted to approve the January 18, 2012 and February 15, 2012 Executive Session meeting minutes.
The Board voted to offer 2012-2013 probationary contracts to: Bradley Brown, Stacie Cline, Darla Deimeke, Holly Gemes, Jennifer Gilman, Darla Haines, Kim Hart, Michele Koelling, Michael Kropf, Erin Mack, Melisha McCoskey, Patti Pazdera, and Susan Wilson.
The board voted to offer a tenured teacher contract to: James Benson, James Boedeker, Rebecca McCurdy, Nicole Poindexter, and Shanta Wheeler. The Board came to consensus that all tenured teachers not aforementioned will be retained.
At 12:04 p.m., the Board voted to return to regular session. At 12:05 p.m., the Board voted to adjourn the meeting.
Special Meeting
The board voted to approve the modified agenda. Cheryl Mack, superintendent, presented a proposed draft of the 2012-2013 school calendar. Mrs. Mack mentioned the proposed draft has a start date that is more than 10 days prior to the first Monday in September, which is Labor Day. At 7:03 p.m., the Board voted to adjourn the meeting.