Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

August Primary is set

Posted on Wednesday, April 20, 2016 at 11:18 am

(story corrected; We apologize for error in party affiliation listed in the April 20 issue of The Vandalia Leader.)

The filing deadline has come and passed for Audrain County residents looking to run for county offices, with the primaries scheduled for early August.
Come primary time, a new Eastern District County Commissioner will be elected as there were just two Republicans who filed to run in a seat held for a long time by the retiring Roger Young.
Susan Paden and Alan Winders are the two candidates who will be seeking voter support through election day.
In the Western District County Commissioner race, there are two candidates on both sides of the political aisle.
J.W. Toalson and Mike Groves are running on the Democratic side while both Tracy Graham and John Ogden are running on the Republican ticket. The seat is being vacated by the retiring Tom Groves.
There will be no primary race in the race for Audrain County Sheriff but there are candidates set to do battle for the position in November.
Chad McDonald is running on the Democratic ticket while Matt Oller is running on the Republican ticket.
The position is being vacated by the retiring Sheriff Stuart Miller.
In other uncontested races, incumbent Democrats Melissa Maupin (Assessor) and Connie Hagan (Public Administrator) are running.
Incumbent Todd Yager is running uncontested as a Republican in the Audrain County Coroner race.