Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Audrain County Area Public School Retirees meet

Posted on Wednesday, June 21, 2017 at 11:35 am

The Audrain County Area Public School Retirees met June 7 p.m. at St. John’s Lutheran Church. President Janice Douglas introduced Ayanna Shivers, who told about the “After Hours Tutoring” program for Mexico Middle School and High School students, which will start in September.
Janice Kleinsorge and “Sparkle,” her therapy dog, presented the program “Tail Waggin’ Tutors.” Kleinsorge and “Sparkle” visit schools and listen to students read. Kleinsorge told about the training “Sparkle” had in order to become a therapy dog. They also visit hospitals and nursing homes. The program ended with “Sparkle” doing some tricks.
Douglas called the meeting to order and thanked the social committee consisting of Nancy Oliver, Gina Gilman, and Lois Runnels. Gilman led the Pledge and Oliver gave the devotion.
The minutes and Treasurer report were approved. Legislative chairperson Laura Worstell reported the Legislative Session had ended and legislation went about as MRTA wanted it to go. Margaret Thomas, Informative Protective chairperson, gave information regarding phone scams, credit cards, and medical information. Lou Mongler reported the Retirement Education committee is considering doing a retirement workshop every other year. Deborah Teague reported gift bags with information about ACAPSR and MRTA had been delivered to Van-Far and Mexico retirees by the Membership committee. There were no retirees at Community R-VI.
Douglas gave the Community Participation report. Funds from Moser’s receipts collected by members for the Next Step program amounted to $500 the past school year. Students enjoyed an “End of the Year” bowling party. Douglas thanked members who helped clean Botts School and the Country Church on the Audrain Historical Society grounds.
It was reported that MRTF reached and exceeded the goal set to raise $5,000 in order to receive a matching grant on Give Ozarks day. The money will be used to fund classroom grants.
Douglas reported that several members attended the SSM Mother’s Day Tea at St. Mary’s Health-Audrain.
Douglas was elected to be a delegate to the Annual MRTA Membership meeting September 12-13 with Diana Henage as an alternate.
Members voted for Teague to be the ACAPSR Distinguished Retiree nominee.
Upcoming events are September 12–13, Annual MRTA Membership meeting in Jefferson City; October 23, Unit 4 meeting in Fulton; November 15–16, Branson Days.
The next meeting will be August 2, at POET Biorefining, in Laddonia.
Sign-up sheets for 2018-2019 officers and standing committees were passed around.
Runnels gave the blessing and members enjoyed lunch.
All public school retirees are welcome to join the Audrain County chapter.