Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

Agape House recognizes Charter Members

Posted on Wednesday, May 28, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Sterling and Karen Holbrook

Sterling and Karen Holbrook

Agape House of Vandalia board members met Tuesday, May 20, and spent the first few minutes of the meeting in remembrance and celebration.
In May 1999, six persons gathered and made initial plans for this guesthouse, now in operation nearly 10 years. Nearly 6,000 guests have stayed while they visited loved ones at the state correctional facilities in Bowling Green and Vandalia. Two of the original persons, Sterling and Karen Holbrook, remain on the board of directors today and have offered leadership in many important ways. Their presence on the board was celebrated.
In regular business, the house manager reported 55 persons, including seven children, stayed at the house in April. Manager Doris Donoho submitted a request for a vacation one week in July; provisions were made for a substitute in her absence.
Two persons submitted bids for repair of cracks and repainting the community room and one upstairs bedroom. Paul Fennewald was selected.
Tours had been given to two groups this month. Veanna Snodgrass will represent Agape House at the annual interview of United Way of Audrain County in June.
Board members attending were: Alberta Cropp, Carlene Galloway, Janet Heim, K. Holbrook, S. Holbrook, Elwood LaRue, Phil Pennington, Kay Robnett and V. Snodgrass.
The next board meeting will be held June 17 at the guesthouse.
Monetary gifts received in April include the following: United Way of Audrain County; NECC Personnel during National Crime Victims’ Week and Edgewood Baptist Church of Bowling Green; Bethlehem Baptist Church of Centralia; Curryville Baptist Church and Elm Grove Baptist Church of Curryville; Farber Baptist Church and Gladys Williams, of Farber; Grand Crossing Baptist Association, of Fulton; Charles Pendergrass of Galena; Lockewood Park Baptist Church and Friendship Baptist Church, of Mexico; New York Life Insurance Company through agent Beth Schnitker, of Middletown; Dennis and Judy Mayer, of Monticello; Loretta Hawes, of St. Charles; Mary Scheffler, of Leander, Texas; Hopewell Baptist Church and John Yost of Thompson; Southside Baptist Church, First Presbyterian Church, First Baptist Church, Spencer Creek Baptist Church, and First Christian Church, all of Vandalia; Hopewell Baptist Church, of Wellsville; and Joseph Tomlin, of Williamsburg.
Non-monetary gifts received included: paper and hygiene products by Girl Scout Troop No. 9817 of Vandalia.