Vandalia Leader

Follow Us On:

ACCHU holds final meeting

Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2012 at 10:08 am

ACCHU Administrator Kevin Lowrance, shown left, presents Karen Shaw, right, Vandalia’s City Clerk, with a plaque commemorating the 33 years Vandalia had been a part of the unit in Mexico, Mo.

After 51 years of operation, board members of the Audrain City-County Health Unit (ACCHU) adjourned the unit’s final  meeting.
On Monday October 22, in the Audrain County Courthouse Community Room, ACCHU Administrator Kevin Lowrance read the final resolution for members to vote. The group unanimously passed the resolution, which set guidelines for the dissolution of the unit acting under RSMo70.
ACCHU will continue to operate until December 31, after which the Audrain County Board of Health will assume all duties.
The unit will still operate under funding from the ACCHU board of directors until the end of the year and assumes the responsibility of paying its bills until that time.
ACCHU’s Board of Directors include Steve Hobbs, chair person and Audrain County presiding commissioner; Ron Loesch, vice-chair person and mayor of Mexico; Karen Shaw, City Clerk of Vandalia; Gene Thomas, D.O, of the Audrain Medical Center; Kim Rettenmaier, M.D., of the Audrain Medical Center; and David Neuendorf, president and CEO of the Audrain Medical Center.
Administrative staff includes Lowrance; Kay Dubbert, R.N., director of nursing and associate administrator; and Linda Spurling, accounting support staff.
ACCHU was effectively dissolved after Audrain County  citizens voted 1,551-1,071 to approve a maximum allowance of .25 cents per $100 assessed valuation to fund the new board of health under RSMo205. “To me, it is historical. We’ve had (ACCHU) for 51 years in this community,” Lowrance said. “I just hate to see 51 years go by, but it has gone by and we’re moving forward with the board of health.”
Lowrance will continue as administrator of the board of health and joins the inaugural Audrain County Board of Health staffers of Dr. Patricia Burke, chairperson; Jennifer Williams, secretary; Sterling Oliver, treasurer; Richard Weber; and Sharon Stowers.
“Fifty-one years seems like a long time but lets hope that our new structure has even more success,” Hobbs said.
“There’s a lot of counties that don’t have the legacy that Audrain County has. I tell the guys in the office everyday, we strive to be the very best county in the state. This is just another example of how we can be proud of our county.”