Lifestyles » Education

Teacher Kelly Orf stuck to the wall.

Fundraiser inches past its goal

Posted on April 23, 2014 at 12:28 pm

More than $2,700 was raised by Van-Far Elementary students through the 1st Annual Fitness For Heart event. The proceeds benefit the American Heart Association. Students were challenged by Van-Far P.E. teacher Kelly Orf to raise $1,000 for her to be duct taped to a wall. Raising $1,500 would force her to eat a real worm. The students accepted the challenge and made her do both. Ryan Howald was the top

Read Full Story

Education » Older Stories

  • Community R-VI parents share concerns with board

    Posted on April 23, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    A few parents commented on a letter sent to 5th grade parents during the R-VI board meeting.

    The Community R-VI Library was packed full of parents last Wednesday night for the district’s school board meeting. Many in attendance wanted their voices to be heard in regards to an alleged abuse scenario between a 5th grade teacher and student. Kim Replogle was going to speak but was reminded that she was on the Executive Session agenda. She had several pages to read to the board. Board President Andrew

    Read Full Story
  • School Resource Officer hired by Van-Far, R-VI

    Posted on April 23, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    Front row, from left: Van-Far Board Treasurer Larry Wheeler and Board President Christy Nelson. Back row: Superintendent Dr. Stephen Hunter, Lt. Jeff Scrogin, Audrain County Presiding Commissioner Steve Hobbs, Eastern Commissioner Roger Young, and Audrain County Sheriff Stuart Miller.

    Just one night after the Community R-VI School District approved a measure to hire a School Resource Officer, the Van-Far R-I School District finalized things with the board’s approval of a memorandum between the two districts. Attending both meetings were Audrain County Presiding Commissioner Steve Hobbs, Commissioner Roger Young, Audrain County Sheriff Stuart Miller, and officer Jeff Scrogin, the new SRO. The districts are splitting the total of $44,403.12 to

    Read Full Story
  • Scholar Bowl Team shines at districts

    Posted on April 16, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    Front row: Samantha Davis. Back row: Coach Mindy Nasir, Nathan Kraft, Bryan Mink, and Wei Lin.

    The Van-Far Scholar Bowl Team competed in the Class 2 District 13 Tournament on Saturday, April 12, 2014, at Monroe City High School. Van-Far won their first game against Elsberry 280-210, lost their second game against Monroe City  340-210, and won their third game against Mark Twain 180-170. Van-Far moved on to the semifinals as the fourth seed where they were defeated by Monroe City 370-180. All District Individual High

    Read Full Story
  • R-VI students take third in Envirothon

    Posted on April 16, 2014 at 2:49 pm


    On Wednesday, April 9, Community R-VI students participated in Regional Envirothon at the Runge Center in Jefferson City, taking third place. They will now advance to state Envirothon competition on May 1. Shown, from left: Mason Sims, Maddy Wieberg, Kaleb Harris, Julie Hale, and Lindsey Gastler. The team is coached by high school science teacher Melanie Utterback and they were sponsored by the Audrain County Soil and Water Conservation District.

    Read Full Story
  • Van-Far Band/Choir get district marks

    Posted on April 16, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    Van-Far Band/Choir Director Alex Cucciarre was pleased with the strong student performances at the District Band/Vocal Contests held April 3-5 at Mexico High School. The band received a “2” rating while the choir earned a “3” rating at the district event. “I was very impressed with our performance at contest this year,” Cucciarre said. “The students really gave it their all and performed an excellent show. This year, the Van-Far

    Read Full Story
  • Van-Far students get Honor Roll

    Posted on April 8, 2014 at 10:39 pm

    TERM 3 “A” HONOR ROLL   (7th) Alec Adam, Paige Dameron, Jayle Jennings, Avery Rost, Lauren Shaw; (8th) Taryn Adam, Walker Franke, Jacob Garner, Joshua Hodde, Colten Jensen, Mackenzie Kurz, Paul Schambach; (Freshmen) Alexis DeTienne, Andrew Snodgrass; (Sophomores) Renee Nelson, Abbegail Robinson; (Juniors)  Abilene Gatson, Kayleigh Kohl, Bryan Mink, Molly Nagel; (Seniors) Mackenzie Baumbach, Ciara Craven, Brooke Johnson, Wei Lin “B” HONOR ROLL 7th GRADE Alec Adam, Gage Barney, Cole Chrisman,

    Read Full Story

National News - Education

Headlines of the Day